Division for Research Development
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

​Subcommittee A funding in support of the doctoral research of SU staff members (non-Thuthuka) 

​​​​​​This funding is aimed at enabling SU staff members, who do not qualify for NRF Thuthuka funding, to obtain their doctoral degrees. A maximum amount of R30 000 will be awarded per grant.

Subcommittee A:
Full-time permanent staff in the Faculties of Arts and Social Sciences, Education, Law, Theology, Economic and Management Sciences and Military Science, who are enrolled for their doctoral degrees but do not qualify for NRF Thuthuka funding (thus non-South African citizens and/or older than 45 years), may apply for Subcommittee A research funds in support of their doctoral research. Staff members from support divisions are also eligible to apply for Subcommittee A funding.


user.pngShannon Faro
phone-call.png​ 021 808 4480

Relevant documents
2023 Agenda closing dates
  • 20 January
  • 6 April
  • 11 August
  • 13 October
  • 24 November ​