Division for Research Development
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

​Research Integrity and Ethics

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Stellenbosch University (SU) is committed to applying the values of equity, participation, transparency, service, tolerance and mutual respect, dedication, scholarship, responsibility and academic freedom in all its activities (as contained in the SU Vision Statement). This includes, by definition all the research conducted at the University. SU is of the view that good science assumes ethical accountability according to national and international acceptable norms. The responsibility for this lies with every person conducting research under the auspices of SU.

The University has five Ethics Review Committees, all functioning under the Senate Research Ethics Committee (SREC), namely:

1.      Research Ethics Committee: Social, Behavioural and Education Research (REC: SBE)

2.      Health Research Ethics Committee 1

3.      Health Research Ethics Committee 2

4.      Research Ethics Committee: Animal Care and Use (REC: ACU)

5.      Research Ethics Committee: Biological and Environmental Safety (REC: BES)

These committees have a vital function in ensuring that all research activities at SU are conducted within national and internationally accepted standards and legislation concerning ethics in research.​


Please note:
The Procedure for the Investigation of Research Misconduct at Stellenbosch University has been replaced with Stellenbosch University’s procedure for the investigation of allegations of breach of research norms and standards on 9 May 2014.