Student Parliament
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Who is Student Parliament

Student ​Parliament

Accountability, Transparency and Consultative Governance


Student Parliament is comprised of all persons who are currently registered students of Stellenbosch University. Every person is welcome to attend Student Parliament Committee meetings, sittings and events. All registered students also have voting rights and may participate​ freely within the confines of the Student Parliament Constitution and the Student Constitution. 

​​The Student Parliament Executive Committee​​​

The Student Parliament Executive Committee organises sittings and other events that open a platform for any and all Maties to raise their concerns. This space is to ensure that all students have access to information concerning student governance. We serve as a link between students and governing bodies.

Student Parliament has no part in governing any aspect of campus, we do, however, serve as a check and balance on  governing bodies such as the Student Representative Council (SRC), Prim Committee (PK), Senior Prim Committee and the Academic Affairs Council. Therefore, we clam that we are Consultative Governance.


Some of Parliament's most important functions include: 

  1. To act in the best interest of students and to actively promote students‟ rights under chapter 2 of the Student Constitution;
  2. To hold the Student Representative Council accountable and transparent; 
  3. To formulate and maintain policy in order to promote an institutional sensitivity to foster accountability and transparency within student leadership structures  ​

We encourage all Maties to have there say on campus issues, we encourage robust dialogue and we strive to develop a culture of Transparency and Accountability, not just on campus, but in the hearts and minds of our future leaders.

​​​​The Executive: 

The Speaker of Parliament: 

​​​Keitumets​​e Lebesa



​​​The Deputy Speaker External (Secretary General):

​​Thatego Selahle



​The Deputy Speaker Internal (Accou​​ntability C​hair): 

​​Nhlakanipho Mkhize

BCOM (Actuarial Science) F


The Executive Trea​surer:

Philasande Shongwe


​The Deputy Accountability C​hair:

Tshenolo Ntwagae

BA (Social Dynamics) N