Stellenbosch University
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
Contributions of SU academics celebrated with Research Excellence Awards
Author: Division for Research Development
Published: 01/09/2022

​​Stellenbosch University (SU)'s Research Excellence Award ceremony was held at the SU Museum on Monday 29 August 2022. The awards were presented to SU researchers who made the biggest contribution in terms of accredited publications (based on audited publication statistics of 2020 publications submitted to the Department of Higher Education and Training – DHET – in the 2021-output submission year) and doctoral graduates (December 2021 and March/April 2022 graduations).

For the purpose of the recognition with regards to accredited publications, two categories were considered, namely (i) researchers making the biggest contributions in terms of the publication subsidy units (PUs) of the DHET (cut-off this year was 3,82) and (ii) researchers who produced the highest number of accredited research publications in collaboration with their national and international research partners and students (cut-off this year was 13). In this round, researchers who delivered three or more doctorates as primary supervisor for the period mentioned were also honoured.

Outgoing Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research, Innovation and Postgraduate Studies Prof Eugene Cloete presented the awards and said that research publications and doctoral graduates are among the most important products our researchers deliver. He added that these activities help to expand SU's international reputation as an excellent research university and also contribute significantly to the institution's annual income.

“More importantly is the fact that new knowledge generated at SU in this manner is transferred to a global audience, thus enhancing the application of research results and the establishment of high-level human capacity.

“Researchers delivering these types of outputs of high quality are regarded as some of the most important assets at any university. I consider it a privilege to be able to give recognition to the outstanding performance of this group of researchers".

Prof Wim De Villiers, Rector, and Vice-Chancellor, congratulated the awardees who, through their publication outputs, supervision of PhD students and mentorship, contribute to SU's strategic vision of becoming Africa's leading research-intensive institution: “One of SU's core strategic themes is Research for Impact. And the impact our researchers are making – on Stellenbosch University's reputation and influence as a world-class institution that produces excellent research, and within their fields of expertise in South Africa, Africa and beyond – that's a legacy to be proud of."

The following researchers received awards:

Dr Alexander Andrason Ancient Studies
Prof Florian Bauer Viticulture and Oenology
Dr Bernard Bekker Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Dr Astrid Buica Viticulture and Oenology
Prof Juliana Claassens Old and New Testament
Dr Francois Cleophas Sport Science
Prof Riaan Combrinck Civil Engineering
Prof Mark Cotton Children Disease Clinical Research Unit
Prof Nuraan Davids Education Policy Studies
Prof Ronnie Donaldson Geography and Environmental Studies
Prof Anton du Plessis Physics
Prof Andries Engelbrecht Industrial Engineering
Prof Aslam Fataar Education Policy Studies
Prof Dion Forster Systematic Theology and Ecclesiology
Prof Johann Görgens Process Engineering
Prof Louise GreenEnglish
Prof Sara Grobbelaar Industrial Engineering
Prof Cang HuiMathematics
Prof Jonathan JansenEducation Policy Studies
Dr Chris JonesSystematic Theology and Ecclesiology
Prof Ashraf Kagee Psychology
Prof Maarten Kamper Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Prof Martin KiddCentre for Statistical Consultation
Prof Bert Klumperman Chemistry and Polymer Science
Prof Lou-Marie KrugerPsychology
Prof Leslie le Grange Curriculum Studies
Prof Christine Lochner Psychiatry
Prof Quinette Louw Physiotherapy
Prof Oliwole Daniel MakindeMathematics, Faculty of Military Science
Prof Antoinette Malan Conservation Ecology and Entomology
Prof Michele MillerMolecular Biology and Human Genetics
Prof Stephanus MullerAfrica Open Institute for Music Research and Innovation
Prof Ian NellPractical Theology and Missiology
Prof Peter NyasuluEpidemiology and Biostatistics
Prof Linus Opara Horticultural Sciences
Prof James PrykeConservation Ecology and Entomology
Prof Lizette RabeJournalism
Prof Helena RabiePaediatrics and Child Health
Prof Tammy Robinson-Smythe Centre for Invasion Biology
Prof Francois RoetsConservation Ecology and Entomology
Prof Dave RichardsonBotany and Zoology
Prof Samantha Sampson Molecular Biology and Human Genetics
Prof Soraya SeedatPsychiatry
Dr Ilze SlabbertSocial Work
Prof Leslie SwartzPsychology
Prof Mark SwillingCentre for Sustainability Transitions
Prof Mark Tomlinson Institute for Life Course Health Research
Prof Jan van Vuuren Industrial Engineering
Dr Stephanie VosMusic
Prof Robert VoslooSystematic Theology and Ecclesiology
Prof Yusef Waghid Education Policy Studies
Prof Gerhard WalzlMolecular Biology and Human Genetics
Prof Robin WarrenMolecular Biology and Human Genetics


  • For more information, please contact Maryke Hunter-Hüsselmann ( or Dalene Pieterse ( from the Division for Research Development.