Stellenbosch University
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
Computer Science Division rewards top students
Author: Media & Communication, Faculty of Science
Published: 02/06/2022

The Van der Walt-medal for the best third year student in Computer Science at Stellenbosch University for 2021 was awarded to Brendan Watling during a special function at the Computer Science Division on 27 May 2022.

The medal was handed over in person by Mrs Nettie van der Walt, widow of late Prof Andries van der Walt. In the early 2000's, prof Van der Walt played a major role in Computer Science at SU. Brendan also received a cash prize for this achievement from Praelexis, while the runner-up, Emile Ferreira, received a cash prize from EPI-USE Labs.

Postgraduate students Dylan Callaghan and Caleb Zeeman made history in terms of the Computer Science Division being unable to separate their achievement, when they both received the prize for the best honours student and for the best honours project. Their prize money was sponsored by Alphawave/EMSS and Vastech.

Other prize winners were Ian le Roux and Jean Weight (best first year students) with runner-up Danielle Kleyn; and Liam Foxcroft (best second year student) with Emil van der Walt the runner-up. Emil is also the grandson of Prof Andries van der Walt. Their cash prizes were sponsored by EPI-USE Labs. Kevin Brand was awarded the prize for the best Honours student in machine learning.

During the function representatives of the sponsoring companies encouraged final year students to apply for internships. Vastech offers a winter internship programme of four weeks, while Alphawave's Daniël Botha emphasised the importance of being part of an inspiring team.

Praelexis' director, Dr McElory Hoffmann, made sure to remind the prize winners to take the time to celebrate in recognition of the hard work they've put in over the years.

Prof Brink van der Merwe, head of the Computer Science Division, thanked the companies for the sponsorships and their involvement in promoting Computer Science at SU.