Stellenbosch University
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
Research publication launched, Media Excellence Awards bestowed
Author: Corporate Communication / Korporatiewe Kommunikasie [Alec Basson]
Published: 09/10/2018

The Division for Research Development at Stellenbosch University (SU) on Monday (8 October 2018) launched Research@SU100 – a special edition of SU's annual research report (Research@ Stellenbosch University). Held at the Stellenbosch Institute for Advanced Study, the event also doubled as SU's inaugural Media Excellence Awards ceremony.

As part of SU's centenary commemoration, Research@SU100 contains 100 research stories, highlighting 100 areas in which the University's research has had an impact over the past 100 years. Some of the ground-breaking research topics covered in this flagship publication are those on tuberculosis, antenatal care, diabetes, food security, renewable energy, wine, climate change, wastewater, invasive species, sexual violence, artificial intelligence and ecological restoration.

Describing Research@SU100 as a wonderful publication, SU Rector and Vice-Chancellor Prof Wim de Villiers said it is a celebration of the achievements in one of the institution's key performance areas.

“If one looks at the research report being launched today, it is clear that we have a solid foundation on which we can build going forward."

“We are very proud of all of our researchers – a group of highly talented and dedicated individuals. The publication that we are launching tonight, 'Research @ Stellenbosch University', is about sharing their work with the world."

Echoing De Villiers' sentiments, Dr Therina Theron, Senior Director of the Division for Research Development said it's a proud product not just for SU and her division but also for the researchers who work relentlessly to make the world a better place, and to positively impact on people's lives. 

“This publication really helps us to illustrate and disseminate the impact of our research. The impact of SU's research is evident when we read through this publication"

Theron mentioned that the publication is sent to SU's partners and stakeholders all over the world. Among them are government departments, science councils, industry partners, stakeholders in higher education, and international organisations.

The annual Research@Stellenbosch University publications have won MACE (Marketing, Advancement and Communication in Education) excellence awards every year over an eight-year period.

  • An online, virtual copy of Research@SU100 is available at For a printed copy, please liaise with Maryke Hunter-Hüsselman, Director: Research Information and Strategy, at 021 808 4623 or e-mail 

Media Excellence Awards

At the same event, SU, for the first time, gave recognition to 30 of its top media commentators and newsmakers for 2018. Media Excellence Awards were bestowed in three categories, namely newsmakers; media thought leaders; and contributing towards getting other colleagues in the media.NEWS-41.jpg

Among the newsmakers were the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (FMHS), The SU Choir and the SU Law Clinic. Some of the thought leaders and commentators who were honoured included Prof Thinus Booysen (Electrical and Electronic Engineering), Prof Amanda Gouws (Political Science), Prof Jonathan Jansen ( Education Policy Studies  ), Prof Faadiel Essop (Physiological Sciences) and Prof Nico Koopman (Vice-Rector: Social Impact, Transformation and Personnel). Wiida Fourie-Basson (Faculty of Science), Wilma Stassen (FMHS) and Marina Joubert (CREST) received awards for their role in promoting other colleagues in the media.

Prof Wim de Villiers congratulated the first recipients of SU's Media Excellence Awards and highlighted the importance of communicating the institution's research to the public in an accessible way. “This will inform, educate and inspire the public," he added. Pointing to studies on science communication, De Villiers said sharing research with the public also holds benefits for SU and its academics.

  • Main photo: Cover of Research@SU100.
  • Photo 1: Prof Amanda Gouws with the Prof Wim de Villiers at the Awards ceremony. Photographer: Hennie Rudman.