Stellenbosch University
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
The science behind the 2020 Nobel Prizes
Start: 28/10/2020, 18:00
End: 28/10/2020, 19:30
Contact:Dr Pieter Neethling -
Location: Online / Aanlyn
The Faculty of Science cordially invites you to the annual public lectures on the science behind the work of the 2020 Nobel Prize winners in Physics, Chemistry and Physiology or Medicine.


Nobel Prize “for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of realitivity" and “for the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the centre of our galaxy" – awarded to Andrea M. Ghez, Roger Penrose and Reinhard Genzel

Presenter: Dr Anslyn John, Department of Physics, Faculty of Science

Nobel Prize “for the discovery of Hepatitis C virus" awarded to Michael Houhton, Charles M. Rice and Harvey J. Alter

Presenter: Prof Gert van Zyl, Division of Medical Virology, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Nobel Prize “for the development of a method for genome editing" awarded to Jennifer Doudna and Emannuelle Charpentier

Presenter: Prof Johan Burger, Department of Genetics, Faculty of AgriSciences

Registrer at:

Click here to join the event on 28 October at 18:00

 MS Teams Live event​