Stellenbosch University
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
Top lecturer competition
Start: 16/09/2019, 08:00
End: 27/09/2019, 12:00
Contact:Ronél Beukes - 021 808 3404
Location: Online voting

Students of the Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences at Stellenbosch University are annually afforded the opportunity to choose their top lecturer.

The 2019 competition is the ninth one sponsored by Die Burger. The Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences is the only SU faculty to hold the ​competition.

Photographs of all the Faculty's lecturers are displayed in an online ballot, and students vote during a 10-day period. Undergraduate students vote for the best lecturer of their undergraduate study years, while postgraduate students vote for the best lecturer of their postgraduate study years. Students are also required to choose the single most important characteristic of an excellent lecturer from various options.

After the competition, the winners – the undergraduate and postgraduate top lecturer of each department and the overall winner – will be awarded at a gala event.

In addition, ten students who have participated in the voting and whose names have been drawn in a lucky draw, will receive cash prizes of R1 500 each. One of them can also win a smartphone at the prizewinning function.

  • Students can vote from 16 to 27 September 2019.
  • The prizewinning function will be held on 18 October 2019.