The Beyers Naudé Centre for Public Theology
Welcome to Stellenbosch University



Courageous Conversations, a collaboration between the Beyers Naudé Centre and the Theological Student Committee (TSC), started the 2016 season with a lively discussion on the topic of racism on 11 February in the Chapel


The Beyers Naudé Centre hosted a Conscription Symposium from 18 to19 January 2016

Conscription 19.01.16.jpg

The 100th commemoration of the life of Beyers Naudé and the launch of the publication: "Cultivating seeds of Hope" Conversations on the life of Beyers Naudé on 5 May 2015

Beyers Naude uitnodiging_02 (2).jpg

Dr Murray Coetzee; Dr Len Hansen; Ms Liesel Naudé; Prof Nico Koopman

Contributors: Front: Ms Veronica Coetzee; Prof Denise Ackermann;  Prof Welile Mazamisa; Ms Liesel Naudé; Prof Carel Anthonissen. 

Back: Prof Dirkie Smit; Mr Horst Kleinschmidt; Dr Murray Coetzee; Prof John de Gruchy; Dr Len Hansen; Ms Di Oliver; Dr Rudolph Meyer; Prof Nico Koopman; Dr Retief Burger  

Mr Anthony Rooiland, Prof Nico Koopman, Mr Manne Dipico

Speakers: Front: Prof Denise Ackermann;  Ms Liesel NaudéProf Welile Mazamisa; Mr Manne Dipico; Mr  Horst Kleinschmidt; Dr Murray Coetzee.  
Back: Mr Anthony Rooiland; Prof Nico KoopmanProf John de Gruchy; Dr Len Hansen; Prof Dirkie Smit.

On May 10, 2013, the Beyers Naudé Centre for Public Theology celebrated the 98th anniversary of the birth of Beyers Naudé, and the tenth anniversary of the Centre

Publikasies.jpg The first 6 titles in the Beyers Naudé Centre Series on Public Theology (Click here for more information on the Centre's publications)


Prof Nico Koopman


Ms Liesel Naudé and Dr Murray Coetzee


Mr Johann Naudé; Ms Rita Naudé; Prof Russel Botman; Ms Liesel Naudé; Mr Gerry Mostert; Prof Nico Koopman


Mr Johann  Naudé; Ms Rita Naudé; Prof Russel Botman; Ms Liesel Naudé 


Speakers at the event: Prof Nico Koopman; Ms Rita Naudé; Mr Johann NaudéMs Liesel Naudé, Mr Horst Kleinschmidt; Ms Anlené Taljaard; Ms Di Oliver; Dr Moses Ntlha; Dr Murray Coetzee; Rev Douglas Bax


Dr Len Hansen and Mr Johann Naudé 


Prof Russel Botman