Theology
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Old & New Testament (ONT)

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The focus of Old and New Testament is reliable, responsible Bible interpretation. Theological exegesis of the Bible is accountable to the rest of the academic scholarly community and to communities of faith (in Africa and abroad) where the interpretation of Scripture takes place. Therefore the Hebrew and Greek texts of the Bible need to be interpreted taking cognisance of the world of the Biblical authors (then) and readers (now). In continuity with the Biblical text itself, the goal of this interpretation is the liberation of the church, the community and creation. ​​


 Click here ​for an advertisement of a Postdoctoral Research Fellowship: Embodying in/and New Testament interpretation

 ONT Staff

 

 

Prof.Departmental Chair: New TestamentProf.Marius Nelmjnel@sun.ac.za+2721 808 9233http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/theology/Pages/DrMNel.aspx, Academic CV
Prof.Old TestamentProf.Louis Jonkerlcj@sun.ac.za+2721 808 3268http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/theology/Pages/ProfLJonker.aspx, Academic CV
Prof.Old TestamentProf.Julie Claassensjclaassens@sun.ac.za+2721 808 9246http://sun.academia.edu/JulianaClaassens, Academic CV
Prof.New TestamentProf.Jeremy Puntjpunt@sun.ac.za+2721 808 2615http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/theology/Pages/Academic%20CV%27s/ProfJPunt.aspx, Academic CV
Dr.Old TestamentDr.Ntozakhe Cezulacezulans@sun.ac.za+2721 808 9093
Dr.New TestamentDr.Peter Nagelpeternagel@sun.ac.za+2721 808 9456
Ms.Administration & ScripturaMs.Estelle Mullerem4@sun.ac.za+2721 808 3626