Division of Dermatology


The division of dermatology is active in the teaching of medical students in their fourth and fifth years. The Dermatology module at the University of Stellenbosch consists of two components: a clinical (practical) component and a theoretical component in the form of formal or didactic lectures.

The clinical component takes place at the Dermatology Outpatient Department (OPD) and Ward A8W, Tygerberg Academic Hospital. Groups of fifteen students visit the OPD for 10 days at a time. The afternoons are reserved for self-study, working on assignments and listening to tutorials that are available in podcast format. The clinical rotation incorporates interactive small-group sessions and one-on-one interaction with tutors and patients.​