Division of Dermatology


The postgraduate programme consists of 48 months' training in the division as per College of Medicine of South Africa (CMSA) and Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA) requirements. Primary exams can only be written after spending 6 months in a training post. More requirements to complete the program include an exit exam as well as the completion of a dissertation fulfilling the requirements of Stellenbosch University. Training is provided in medical and surgical dermatology. Dermatopathology training is emphasized to enhance the very important practice of clinico-pathological correlation. Regular training in non-surgical aesthetic procedural dermatology is offered. 

Of the 10 training posts 3 are funded by the Provincial Administration of the Western Cape and 7 are unfunded. The 7 unfunded (supernumerary) posts are offered to South African citizens as well as qualified medical doctors from other Southern African countries. Those with postgraduate qualifications and dermatology experience will be favored. Research experience and publications will be beneficial. 

A completed application form and curriculum vitae should be sent to Mrs Meyer from Tygerberg Academic Hospital's HR department (Veruschka.Meyer@westerncape.gov.za).
Applications and CVs for the supernumerary positions should be sent to surethak@sun.​ac.za. ​