Division for Research Development
Welkom by Universiteit Stellenbosch

Research Chairs

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The research chairs hosted by Stellenbosch University is positioned strategically around specific research areas where Stellenbosch University is seen as a leader in the field and where resources and capacity exist for a focused knowledge and human resource intervention.

The aim of the initiative is to make South Africa competitive in the international knowledge economy based on its existing and potential strengths (please click here for more information on the SA Research Chair initiative of the NRF). Stellenbosch University currently hosts 38 chairs, of which 24 form part of the South African Research Chairs Initiative (SARChI), funded by the Department of Science and Technology (DST), through the National Research Foundation (NRF) in South Africa. 

​​​​Read more about the Research Chairs hosted at Stellenbosch University below.​