Division for Research Development
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Periperi U

​​Periperi U is a partnership of African universities that spans across the continent and is committed to building local disaster risk related capacity. Established in 2006, the partnership has grown to include twelve universities from Algiers to Antanarivo, with institutions in Algeria, Cameroon Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Mozambique, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania and Uganda.

The goal of Periperi U is to reduce disaster risks in among African countries through improved national and local disaster risk management, due to enhanced strategic human capacity to integrate risk reduction into critical developmental sectors and programmes. The partners of Periperi U believe this can accomplished through building and embedding sustainable ‘multi-tasking’ capabilities in disaster risk and vulnerability reduction capacity building in 12 selected institutions of higher learning in Africa consistent with global disaster reduction priorities reflected in the 2015 Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction.

Click here to visit the website​
Dr Ailsa Holloway (Director)