Theology
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Old & New Testament (ONT)

​​​​​​​​​​The focus of Old and New Testament is reliable, responsible Bible interpretation. Theological exegesis of the Bible is accountable to the rest of the academic scholarly community and to communities of faith (in Africa and abroad) where the interpretation of Scripture takes place. Therefore the Hebrew and Greek texts of the Bible need to be interpreted taking cognisance of the world of the Biblical authors (then) and readers (now). In continuity with the Biblical text itself, the goal of this interpretation is the liberation of the church, the community and creation. ​​


 

 ONT Staff

 

 

Prof.Departmental chair: New TestamentProf.Jeremy Puntjpunt@sun.ac.za+2721 808 2615http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/theology/Pages/Academic%20CV%27s/ProfJPunt.aspx, Academic CV
Prof.Old TestamentProf.Hendrik Bosmanhlb1@sun.ac.za+2721 808 3265http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/theology/Pages/Academic%20CV%27s/ProfHBosman.aspx, Academic CV
Prof.New TestamentProf.Elna Moutonemouton@sun.ac.za+2721 808 3266http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/theology/Pages/ProfEMouton.aspx, Academic CV
Prof.Old TestamentProf.Louis Jonkerlcj@sun.ac.za+2721 808 3268http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/theology/Pages/ProfLJonker.aspx, Academic CV
Prof.Old TestamentProf.Julie Classensjclaassens@sun.ac.za+2721 808 9246http://sun.academia.edu/JulianaClaassens, Academic CV
Dr.New TestamentDr.Marius Nelmjnel@sun.ac.za+2721 808 9233http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/theology/Pages/DrMNel.aspx, Academic CV
Dr.Coordinator of MTh Gender & HealthDr.Charlene van der Waltcharlenevanderwalt@sun.ac.za+2721 808 9456
Dr.Old TestamentDr.Simon Cezulacezulans@sun.ac.za+2721 808 9093
Ms.AdministrationMs.Estelle Mullerem4@sun.ac.za+2721 808 3626