Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Who We are

​​​​The PRASA Chair consists of three full time employed researchers and a variety and variable number of undergraduate and postgraduate students.


Dr Wyhan Jooste is a senior lecturer in the Department of Industrial Engineering at Stellenbosch University. He is currently the acting Chair Holder of  the PRASA Engineering Research Chair and also​ the head of the Asset Care Research Group (ACRG). He contributes his asset management expertise to the Chair on an ad hoc basis. ​


 Prof CJ Fourie was the previous Chair Holder of the PRASA Research Chair, He was previously a full time lecturer and head of the Industrial Engineering department. He has been with the PRASA Chair since its inception. He now supports the Chair.


Pieter Conradie is has been part of the team since April 2011. He is a professionally qualified and accredited Mechanical Engineer who studied at Stellenbosch.


Olabanji Asekun is the is the most recent addition to our team. He completed his undergraduate studies in Systems Engineering at the University​ of Lagos Nigeria, and joined the PRASA Chair as a post-graduate student in 2012 and joined the team full time upon the completion of his Masters.