Welcome to Stellenbosch University

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Faculty of Science dates back to the earliest days of Stellenbosch University. Over the past decades it has become a national and international role player in basic and applied research. In the various research fields it focuses on, the Faculty strives for a healthy balance between basic and applied research, taking into consideration the needs of the South African community at large. A multidisciplinary approach on national and international levels, and across subject, faculty and other boundaries, is advocated. Research is supported by the various centres, facilities and institutes under the auspices of the eight departments in the Faculty of Science. Research is also strengthened by the six research chairs in the Faculty. 

The principal fields of research are highlighted under the various de​​​partments. 

Some of our undergraduate programmes may include majors from departments in other faculties. Should you wish to undertake postgraduate studies in such a major, please consult the relevant department for more information. 

Important information for Master's by research and doctoral candidates.​

​ ​Programme Offering​ & associated closing dates

Application Process