Stellenbosch University
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
Public lecture: The science behind the 2022 Nobel Prizes
Start: 27/10/2022, 18:00
End: 27/10/2022, 20:00
Contact:Wiida Basson -
Location: A203, JC Smuts Building

The Faculty of Science cordially invites you to the seventh annual lecture on "The science behind the 2022 Nobel Prizes in Physics, Chemistry and Medicine", proudly hosted by the Departments of Physics, Physiological Science and Chemistry and Polymer Science. Please join us for light refreshments after the lectures.

​Click here to register for in-person or online attendance.


The 2022 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to Alain Aspect (France), John F. Clauser (USA) and Anton Zeilinger (Austria) “for experiments with entangled photons, establishing the violation of Bell inequalities and pioneering quantum information science"

Speaker: Prof Mark Tame, Department of Physics

The 2022 Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to Carolyn R. BertozziMorten Meldal and K. Barry Sharpless “for the development of click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry"

Speaker: Prof Willem van Otterlo, Department of Chemistry and Polymer Science

The 2022 Nobel Prize in Medicine was awarded to Svante Pääbo “for his discoveries concerning the genomes of extinct hominins and human evolution"

Speaker: Prof Hugh Patterton, director of the Centre Bioinformatics and Computational Biology