SPL (School of Public Leadership)
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
​​

​​​Academic Staff

Director: School of Public​ Leadership

Prof Zw​elinzima Ndevu

zwelinzima@spl.sun.ac.za
+27 21 918 2150

Area of Specialisation

​People Management​​
Public Administration
Local Government​

Head of ​Doctorate Programme Doctorate in Public & Development Management

Prof Pregala Pillay

Pregala@sun.ac.za
+27 21 808 3602

Area of Specialisation

Anti-corruption

Professor: Environmental Management

Prof Martin De Wit

mdewit@sun.ac.za​
+27 21 808 4273

Area of Specialisation

Environmental and Ecological Economics
Environmental Governance

Professor: Systems Dynamics Modelling

Prof Jospehine Musango

Josephine.Musango@spl.sun.ac.za​
+27 21 808 4338

Area of Specialisation

Systems dynamics modelling
Urban metabolism​

Professor : Public Policy & Monitoring and Evaluation​

Prof Babette Rabie

brabie@sun.ac.za
+27 21 918 4186

Area of Specialisation

Public Policy
Public Sector Evaluation

Professor: Development Studies

Prof​ Firoz Khan

fkhan@sun.ac.za​
+27 21 808 3037

Area of Specialisation

Development Studies
Heterodox Economics
​Institutional Theory

Professor & Academic Head : PGD Public Finance​ Management

Prof Tania Ajam

tajam@sun.ac.za​
+27 21 918 4124​​

Area of Specialisation

Public Financial Management
Public Finance
Public Economics
Public Policy
Digital Transformation
ICT Governance
Intergovernmental Fiscal Relations

Lecturer &​ Academic Head: Social Impact

Mr Johnny Douglas

johnnyd@sun.ac.za
+27 21 918 4408​​

Area of Specialisation

Project Management
Shared Services in Local Government
Local Governance
Community Services
Environmental Health/Municipal Health
Environmental Management, Building Control
Public Management
Disaster Management
Public Participation and Integrated Community Development
Ethics in Public Sector

Lecturer: Diploma in Sustainable Development

Dr Ruenda Loots​

ruenda@sun.ac.za
+27 21 881 3952​​​

Area of Specialisation

Sustainable development
Sustainable Design Technologies

Lecturer: Diploma in Sustainable Development

Mr Shaun Dunn​​

sdunn@sun.ac.za
+27 21 881 3952​​​

Area of Specialisation

Education for Sustainable Development
Indigenous Knowledge Systems & Traditional Knowledge​

Lecturer and Programme Head: Advanced Diploma in Accountability

Ms Deyana Isaacs​​

disaacs@spl.sun.ac.za
+27 21 918 4131​​​

Area of Specialisation

​Project Management
Women in Management
People Management
Leadership Development
Governance and Accountability in the Public Sector

​Lecturer: People Management

Ms Ashlene van der Berg-Ross​​​

ashlene@sun.ac.za
+27 21 808 2316​​​​

Area of Specialisation

​People Management
Public Administration

​Lecturer and Programme Head: Diploma in Public Accountability​

Mr Werner Burger

Wernerb@sun.ac.za​
+27 21 918 4383​​​​

Area of Specialisation

Public Policy Implementation
Public Sector Risk Management

Junior Lecturer: Public and Development Management

Ms Melissa Botha

msnyders@sun.ac.za​
+27 21 808 2148

Area of Specialisation

Women in Management
People Management
Public Participation
Ethics, Anti corruption

Junior ​​Lecturer: Public Policy and Management

Ms Kerotse Marilyn Kekana

kerotse@spl.sun.ac.za​​
+27 21 808 2195

Area of Specialisation

Public Policy and Management
Poverty Alleviation​
Stakeholder relationships​