Logistics
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Academic Staff

​​

Chair of the Department​

Prof Stephan Visagie  
Prof Stephan Visagie​

Professor

Email address: svisagie@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 2254

Business Analytics & Operations Research

Prof Stephan Visagie  
Prof Stephan Visagie

Professor

Email address: svisagie@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 2254

Dr Isabelle Nieuwoudt 
Dr Isabelle Nieuwoudt

Senior Lecturer

Email address: isabelle@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 3969

Dr Linke Potgieter 
Dr Linke Potgieter

Senior Lecturer

Email address: lpotgieter@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 2492

Research focus: OR in health | Agent-based models | Nonlinear and complex systems | Mathematical biology

Teaching area: Agent-based ​model​ling | Nonlinear optimisation | Decision modelling | OR in industry

Research website

Dr Lieschen Venter 
Dr Lieschen Venter

Senior Lecturer

Email address: lventer@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 4019

Research focus: Simulation modelling | Behavioural OR | Systems analysis | Education systems

Teaching area: Stochastic methods of OR | Social network analytics | Simulation modelling

Research website

Kurt Marais 
Kurt Marais

Lecturer

Email address: maraisk@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 3877

Research focus: Natural language processing | Health and wellbeing | Social network analysis | Human-computer interaction

Teaching area: Decision theory | Linear programming

Gavin Le Roux 
Gavin Le Roux

Lecturer

Email address: gjleroux@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 3981

Research focus: Heuristics | Combinatorial optimisation | Transportation problems | Scheduling

Teaching area: Linear programming | Mathematical modelling | Machine learning | OR in industry

Bowen Heinrich 
Bowen Heinrich

Lecturer

Email address: bheinrich@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 9670

Research focus: Combinatorial optimisation | Graph theory | Metaheuristics | Heuristics

Teaching area: Combinatorial optimisation | Network optimisation | Inventory control

Jeanette Thiart 
Jeanette Thiart

Head Technical Officer / Lecturing

Email address: jthiart@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 2727

Research focus: School location and accessibility | Routing and scheduling of F1 calendar

Teaching area: Network optimisation | Data visualisation

Logistics Management

Prof Leila Goedhals-Gerber 
Prof Leila Goedhals-Gerber

Professor

Email address: leila@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 2252

Research focus: Cold chain logistics | Sustainable logistics | Driver behaviour | Maritime industry

Teaching area: Supply management (outbound) | Sustainable logistics

CV

Prof Johan Louw 
Prof Johan Louw

Associate Professor

Email address: jjlouw@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 3412

Anneke De Bod 
Anneke De Bod

Lecturer

Email address: annekedb@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 9261

Research focus: Macrologistics | Change management

Teaching area: Project management | Customer service | Logistics strategy, governance and change

Heinrich Freiboth 
Heinrich Freiboth

Lecturer

Email address: hwf@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 9491

Research focus: Supply chain analytics | Outbound logistics

Teaching area: Transport and distribution | Logistics analysis | Forecasting

Ulrike Kussing 
Ulrike Kussing

Lecturer

Email address: uk@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 4173

Research focus: Supply chain skills and competencies | Risk management

Teaching area: Supply chain strategy | Performance management | Risk management | Network design

Chumasande Lalendle 
Chumasande Lalendle

Lecturer

Email address: lalendle@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 2253

Research focus: Meat supply chains | Circular economy | Sustainability | Procurement

Teaching area: Global dimension of supply chains | Strategic sourcing | Supply chain collaboration

Gculi Khumalo 
Gculi Khumalo

Lecturer

Email address: gkhumalo@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 2728

Research focus: Cold chain logistics | Packaging logistics | Humanitarian logistics

Teaching area: Logistics management | Supply chain management | Research

Research website

 

Transport Economics

Prof Stephan Krygsman 
Prof Stephan Krygsman

Associate Professor

Email address: skrygsman@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 2624

Research focus: Transport economics | Urban economics | Spatial economics | Surveys and travel behaviour

Teaching area: Transport economics | Economic development | Competition and regulation | Maritime economics

Research website

Johann Van Rensburg 
Johann Van Rensburg

Senior Lecturer

Email address: javrens@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 2879

Research focus: Road user charges | Road funding and financing | Mapping the cost of roads | Road transport management

Teaching area: Transport economics | Project management | International trade

Research website

CV

Melrick October 
Melrick October

Lecturer

Email address: moctober@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 2412

Research focus: Public transport | Urban and regional economics

Teaching area: Urban and regional economics | Transport economics

Reginald Kgwedi 
Reginald Kgwedi

Lecturer

Email address: kgwedi@sun.ac.za

Telephone number: +27 21 808 3212

Research focus: Public (passenger) transport systems | Transport infrastructure and policy | Maritime transport | Urban logistics

Teaching area: Transport economics | Logistics management | Project management​​​​​

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​