African Doctoral Academy
Welcome to Stellenbosch University


​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ADA online Winter School 2020

Early Doctoral Programme Scholarships​​​

Bilateral and ARUA partners

​Applications closed at midnight 24 June 2020​ (SAST).

​The African Doctoral Academy (ADA) is privileged to offer a limited number of candidates, at the start of their Doctoral careers, the opportunity to attend the ADA online Winter School online in July 2020. The Scholarships are sponsored by the Centre for Collaboration in Africa (CCA) and delegates from Stellenbosch University's formal Bilateral partners and ARUA Universities are eligible (including SU PhD candidates). The list of partner universities​ can be found at the bottom of this page.

As the coronavirus pandemic and lockdown has made it impossible to travel to Stellenbosch, and host ​delegates on campus, the ADA will be presenting our Winter School in a virtual format on 6 July and over two weeks from 13 - 24 July 2020. The Short Courses will be hosted online and will be a blend of synchronous live teaching, exercises, group work and asynchronous learning.

Successful applicants will be able to enrol for an online course hosted during the Winter School and may choose from the following options: 

​Week 1: 13 - 17 July 2020
​Week 2: 20 - 24 July 2020
2 - Introduction to quantitative research design and methodology Introduction and learning session on quantitative research design and methods in Social and Health Sciences, and Education.

-Prof Timothy C. Guetterman (University of Michigan, USA)    

3 - Preparing for your PhD: Considerations and planning your research projecA roadmap for your Doctorate, from conception to graduation: For new and aspiring PhDs across all disciplines.

- Dr Layla Cassim (ERS) and Dr Nicoline Herman (Stellenbosch University)

4 - Introduction to qualitative research design and methodology Hands-on training in the theory, design, and practical application of qualitative research methodology across disciplines and subject areas. 

- Prof Wayne A. Babchuk (University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA) 

5 - Statistics Revisited: All you need to know to successfully analyse and present your study data. (NEW) A review of basic statistical techniques you will need from t-tests to chi squared tests to regression modelling and beyond.

- Prof Catherine Comiskey (Trinity College, Dublin University, Ireland) 

 The one-day course (Systematic Review) on 6 July 2020 is not eligible for the Scholarship award. 


We are privileged to offer a scholarship for one course each to delegates across South Africa and Africa that are SU Bilateral or ARUA, including candidates enrolled at Stellenbosch University. Eligible candidates should be in the early phases of their PhD, can be from any discipline and will be enrolled at their home institution by 17​ June 2020 and have been enrolled for no more than 12 months by 1 July 2020.

  • The list of partner universitiesthat are eligible for this award can be found at the bottom of this page.
  • If your participation in the online Winter School is dependent on the bursary, we suggest that you wait for the outcome before applying to avoid duplication. We will try to ensure that you get your first choice of workshop, so there is no need to apply to the school before knowing your award status.
  • Preference will be given to African (including South African) students studying at institutions in Africa. 
  • We strongly encourage and promote women to apply for the bursaries and we will take this into consideration when scoring the applications.

Application Process:​

  1. Applicants must complete the online form below to submit their details and apply to take part in the programme. This includes a 200 word motivation of how the online Winter School would benefit your research and journey as a PhD candidate. 
  2. Applicants can apply for only one week-long course held between 13 and 24 July 2020.
  3. Applicants have to upload the below documents as part of the application process. No documents will be accepted by email. Please make use of the following naming convention: your surname.document_type.programme (for example smit.curriculumvitae.edp.doc).
  4. Closing date for applications is 24 June 2020 at midnight, ​​SAST.
Your application will not be considered as complete if you do not submit all the required documentation in full. In this case you will be unable to submit the form if all documents are not uploaded.

    1. ​A 200 word motivation on why you would benefit from the award, and specifically how the workshops selected would benefit your research and add to the successful completion of your degree (in line on the form)
    2. Curriculum Vitae (Resume)
    3. Brief description of your research (roughly 300 words)
    4. A formal proof of registration at your home institution, clearly indicating your registration date for your PhD degree.
    5. A written approval / referee report
      1. On your university letterhead & containing your supervisor's signature by the current (home) supervisor or head of department to endorse the applicant's application. This will indicate the home supervisor's approval for the applicant to participate in the ADA's Summer School and provide legitimacy of applicant's intention.
      2. We will a​ward a bonus point during the evaluation process if your supervisor also states your case and your suitability for the programme, in addition to simply endorsing your application.

After a vigorous selection process and panel discussion, the results will be made available shortly after the closing date.

Please note: 

  • The ADA reserves the right not to make any selections for the programme. 
  • We also reserve the right to rescind any scholarship awards made, including if the delegate is unable to commit to the programme's full duration.
  • Candidates that have benefitted from African Doctoral Academy or other funding via Stellenbosch University International in the last 18 – 24 months will be placed on the B list of applications to ensure the equitable distribution of funds available.

 |Applications closed 24 June 2020​|

Eligible Universities:​​

Addis Ababa University

American University of Cairo

Arba Minch University

Bahir Dar University

Kenyatta University

Makerere University

Mekelle University

Midlands State University

Obafemi Awolowo University lle-Ife

Omar Bongo University

Reformed Church University​

Rhodes University

Strathmore University, Kenya

The Federal University of Agriculture Abeokuta

Université de Yaoundé I

Université Eduardo Mondlane

University Cheikh Anta Diop

University of Botswana

University of Cape Town

University of Dar es Salaam

University of Ghana

University of Ibadan

University of Kwa-Zulu Natal

University of Lagos

University of Malawi

University of Mauritius

University of Nairobi

University of Namibia

University of Pretoria

University of Rwanda

University of Science and Technology Houari

Stellenbosch University

University of the Witwatersrand

University of Zimbabwe ​