Stellenbosch University
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
Prestigious Military Academy Awards Ceremony
Author: Maj Engela Maeintjes
Published: 22/01/2021

​​The Military Academy held a prestigious Awards Ceremony on 2 December 2020 in the Joe Modise Hall at the unit.  The Ceremony included academic awards as well as military proficiency awards.

​​​Due to COVID-19 and social distancing, the event was attended by the recipients and management staff only with Alderman Marius Koen (Mayor of Saldanha Bay Municipality) and Major General Thembelani Xundu (Director Army Corporate Services) as the guests at the event. ​

The students who excelled in their academic studies received certificates, gifts and trophies as a token of recognition for their hard work during the year.  In addition to the students' acknowledgement, the staff members of the Faculty of Military Science who excelled in their academic and professional development were also awarded.

At the event, Candidate Officer Thembakazi Penelope Swartbooi stole the limelight when apart from several other academic awards; she obtained the P.J.G. de Vos Medal for the undergraduate student who obtained the best results over three years of studies at the Military Academy.  What makes this achievement even more special is that she obtained it Cum Laude and she was the Student Captain for 2020 with several responsibilities that occupied her time.

The military proficiency awards were presented to the third year members who have excelled in both academic learning and military professional development, as well as to the best military instructor.  The best candidates in the various Services were presented with Service Trophies and the overall best candidate was presented with the Sword of Honour.  This year Midshipman Gino Naidoo received the Sword of Honour and the best Military Instructor trophy was awarded to Major Beverly Geldenhuys.

By Major Engela Meintjes

Photos by Flight Sergeant Debbie Guthry

Photo– Military Proficiencly awards recipients: From Left to Right:  Lieutenant Thobile Shandu (Best SA Army student), Candidate Officer Itumelang Gift Chokoe (Best SA Air Force student), Midshipman Gino Naidoo (Best SA Navy student as well as Sword of Honour winner), Candidate Officer Thembakazi Penelope Swartbooi (Best SA Medical Health Services student) and Ensign Nelly Matome Manamela (Best SA Defence Intelligence