Stellenbosch University
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
Scholarship of Educational Leadership (SoEL) short course
Author: CTL/SOL
Published: 04/02/2020

​All ten 2019 participants successfully completed the short course. They presented their preliminary research findings at the SoTL conference and submitted a draft paper and a mini-portfolio focusing on their educational leadership, for their summative assessment. An awards ceremony is planned for February or March. The 2019 cohort will act as mentors or “SoEL-mates" for the 2020 cohort.  

The 2020 cohort again consists of ten participants from nine faculties and one staff member from the PASS environment: Dr Margaret Blackie (Science), Prof Renée Blaauw (FMHS), Prof Cara Schwarz (Engineering), Dr Peter Nagel (Theology), Dr Maricel Krugel (AgriSciences), Dr Gretha Steenkamp (EMS), Dr Taryn Barnard (Arts), Lt Col Bontle Monnanyane (Military Science), Dr Louise Botha (Education) and Ms Heidi October (Centre for Student Leadership and Structures).  

An introductory session was held on 26 November 2019 where Dr Antoinette van der Merwe (Sr Director Learning and Teaching Enhancement) welcomed all participants on behalf of Prof Schoonwinkel. The first contact session focusing on Leadership in Pedagogy, took place on 31 January 2020. 

Photo: Four of the 2020 SoEL participants during the first contact session in Den Bosch on 31 January: (fltr) Dr Taryn Bernard, Lt Col Bontle Monnanyane, Ms Heidi October, Dr Louise Botha. 

For more information on SOEL visit this page