Stellenbosch University
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
Candidates: Convocation vacancy on Council
Author: Dr Ronel Retief- Registrar
Published: 22/08/2023

​​​​​​The nominations for the vacancy of a Convocation member on the SU Council closed on 20 August 2023 and we hereby share the names of the candidates:

Mr Jan Naude de Villiers

Mr Tim du Plessis

Prof Joan Hambidge

Dr Trunette Renee Joseph

Mrs Zibu MaSotobe

Mr Johan Acker Smit

Dr Louise van Rhyn

Click here to view candidates' vision statements and CVs​ and cast your vote. 

Convocation members received an official notification with the relevant information on the voting process. If you have not received the notice, please e-mail and update your details.

Members have ten (10) calendar days to cast their vote digitally. The voting platform has been active since Monday, 28 August 2023 at 08:00 and will close on Thursday, 7 September 2023 at 23:59.

We placed some additional cyber security on the voting platform. We noted that members using Internet Explorer are unable to access the voting platform. This is mainly due to the fact that Microsoft no longer fully supports Internet Explorer. We request that you use an alternative browser when accessing the voting platform. If you are experiencing any other difficulties with navigating the voting platform, please reach out to