Stellenbosch University
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
Call for nominations for 2023 Jan H Marais prize

Nominations are currently being awaited for the biggest prize in Afrikaans, the Jan H Marais prize. The prize recognises an exceptional, life-long contribution to Afrikaans as science language through scientific works and publications of high standard in Afrikaans.  

The prize, worth R750 000, was established in 2015 by Het Jan Marais Nationale Fonds, Media24 and Stellenbosch University. 

Natural persons, deserving institutions or societies that promote Afrikaans as academic language can be nominated. The prize is administrated by the South African Academy for Science and Arts. The Academy annually appoints the selection committee consisting of leading local and international scientists. 

Previous winners include Profs Herman Giliomee, Jaap Steyn, Jan van der Watt, Marinus Wiechers, Christo van Rensburg, Fransjohan Pretorius, Jean Sonnekus, Ina Wolfaardt-Gräbe, Hennie van Coller and Rufus Gouws.

The closing date for nominations is 19 June 2023. The prize will be awarded in Stellenbosch on 8 September, which coincides with Marais' birthday. 

For more information, contact Prof Anne-Marie Beukes at or 083 675 8053. 

Click here to view the advertisement and here​ to read more about the prize.