Microbiology
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Academic Staff

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ Fulltime Academic Staff 
Emile van Zyl (PhD)
Distinguished Professor
Emile_van_Zyl.png 
Research field: Fungi biotechnology towards bioenergy and the bioeconomy
ChairSANERI Chair of Energy Research (CoER)






Room
: A336, JC Smuts Building
Tel.: +27 21 808 5854
Emailwhvz@sun.ac.za 
Leon Dicks (PhD)
Distinguished Professor
 
Research field: Lactic acid bacteria taxonomy and characterization of their antimicrobial peptides







Room: 
A314, JC Smuts Building
Tel.: +27 21 808 5849
Email: lmtd@sun.ac.za
Alf Botha (PhD)
Professor
Department​al chair
 
Research field: The interactions between yeast and their biological, chemical and physical environment








Room
: A342, JC Smuts Building
Tel.: +27 21 808 5856
Emailabo@sun.ac.za
Gideon Wolfaardt (PhD)
Professor

Gideon_Wolfaardt.png 
 
Research field: From microbes to society
ChairERWAT Research Chair in Water Management







Room
: 2008, AI Perold Building
Tel.: +27 21 808 3039
Emailgmw@sun.ac.za
Karin Jacobs (PhD)
Professor
 
Research field: Microbial ecology and fungal taxonomy








Room: A331, JC Smuts Building
Tel.: +27 21 808 5806
Emailkj@sun.ac.za
Marinda Viljoen-Bloom (PhD)
Associate-Professor
 
Research field: Microbial hydrolysis of starch for biofuel production








Room: A354, JC Smuts Building
Tel.: +27 21 808 5859
Emailmv4@sun.ac.za

Wesaal Khan (PhD)
Associate-ProfessorWesaal_Khan.png
Research field: Novel strategies for the treatment and monitoring of water sources







Room
: A363, JC Smuts Building
Tel.: +27 21 808 5804
Emailwesaal@sun.ac.za

Heinrich Volschenk (PhD)
Senior Lecturer
 
Research field: Functional microbial bioinformatics








Room
: A323, JC Smuts Building
Tel.: +27 21 808 5851
Email: volschenkh@sun.ac.za
Trudy Jansen (MSc)
Junior Lecturer
Trudy_Jansen.png 
Research field: Exploring the natural biodiversity of S. cerevisiae for use in industrial applications specifically the bio-refinery industry






Room
: A310, JC Smuts Building
Tel.: +27 21 808 5853
Emailtrudy@sun.ac.za

Shelly Dean (PhD)
Researcher


Research field: Plasmid biology and molecular biology of acidophilic biomining bacteria, microbial interactions, bacteriocin expression and possible “cross-talk” between probiotic bacteria




Room
: A315, JC Smuts Building
Tel.: +27 21 808 5850
Email: smd@sun.ac.za
​​​Affiliated Academic Staff
​​​​Eugene Cloete (PhD)
Vice-Rector (Research, Innovation and Postgraduate Studies)

R​esearch field:  Water quality, water resource management, nanotechnology in water applications, public health, food microbiology and the purification of effluent and waste products from the environment






Tel
.: +27 21 808 4372
Emaileugenecloete@sun.ac.za
Doug Rawlings (PhD, DSc)
Emeritus Professor

Doug_Rawlings.png

Research field: Molecular biology of microorganisms that can be used in biomining practices










Email
der@sun.ac.za
Lydia-Marie Joubert
​(PhD, MPhil)

Associate Professor​​Lydia_2D1A0906-small.png

​​​
Research field:  

Electron Microscopy and development of 3D visualization methods in Life Sciences. Microbial biofilms and Variable Pressure SEM are pet subjects.

​ 






Email: lydiaj@sun.ac.za


​​​