Welcome to Stellenbosch University

About Us

Welcome to the Department of History


The Stellenbosch Gymnasium was established in 1866. By 1881 it became known as Stellenbosch College and College School, and later Victoria College by 1887. Its name finally changed to Stellenbosch University in 1918.


From 1880, History as a subject was initially taught by a professor in Modern Languages (Dutch, French and German), Prof Nicolaas Mansveldt. In 1904 the Department of History was  established as an independent entity. Since then, its student body has grown exponentially under the leadership of a variety of professors who also served as chairpersons: Prof E. C. Godée Molsbergen (1904-1910), Prof W. Blommaert (1910-1926), Prof S. F. N. Gie (1918-1926), Prof H. B. Thom (1931-1953), Prof J. A. Wiid (1926-1958), Prof P. J. van der Merwe (1938-1977), Prof D. J. Kotzé (1956-1985), Prof D. J. van Zyl (1966-1996), Prof P. H. Kapp (1986-1999) and Prof A. M. Grundlingh (2000-2015).


History is a subject of many dimensions, but its central thrust is to explain change over time.  How we deal with change, in our personal life or in wider society, depends on how well we are informed. This department aims to provide students with the necessary intellectual skills to understand processes of change and historical debate. 


We are a dynamic teaching and research-intensive department which takes a keen interest in all that was, and is... 


Geskiedenis Departement Administratiewe Beampte | History Department Administration Assistant

Ms Leschelle Morkel

Tel: +27 21 808 2177     Faks | Fax: (021) 808-2389 E-pos | E-mail: lmork@sun.ac.za

RW Wilcocks Gebou, 3de Vloer, Kamer 3028 | RW Wilcocks Building, 3rd Floor, Room 3028

Adres: Privaatsak X1, Matieland, 7602 | Address:  Private Bag X1, Matieland, 7602


3rd Year Gala Dinner 2016 2.jpg3rd Year Gala Dinner 2016 3.jpg3rd Year Gala Dinner 2016.jpgThird Year Gala Dinner 2015.jpgIjeoma Opara Top Third Year History Student 2015.jpg
Honours Day 2015.jpgHonours Class 2016 Farewell 1.jpgSimone Cupido Honours Class 2016.jpgKile Wotshela Honours Class 2016.jpgJessica Graham and Wilanda Kruger Honours Class 2016.jpg