​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Welcome to SU Archives​

The Stellenbosch University Archives was established in 1996 on initiative of the  former Rector, Prof. Andreas van Wyk.  At the time the only space that could be found to house the Archives, was in the R.W. Wilcocks-building in the storage space underneath the first-floor lecture room.  Although not ideal, it served its purpose well.  Fortunately the SU Archives could also benefit from the renovations the building had to undergo following the fire of 10 December 2010.  Researchers, students and the public are welcome to pay the Archives a visit and to experience the new reading and research facilities and exhibition space.


​​Jan Marais Square, c.1930
​Administration Building, c.1956
​Old Domestic Science Building, c.1959