Laser Research Institute
Welcome to Stellenbosch University


​​|| Trapped Ions Home​ || Research || Publications || People ​|| Opportunities || Sponsors​ ||


Dr. Hermann Uys

Dr. Hermann Uys holds a CSIR Research Chair in Quantum, Optical and Atomic Physics seated at Stellenbosch University.   He received his MSc from the University of Pretoria in South Africa and a PhD in quantum optics from the University of Arizona, USA.  His interest in trapped ion quantum control stems from his post-doctoral studies at the National Institute of Standards and Technology in Boulder, Colorado, USA, where he worked for two years.  He has published on a wide range of topics in quantum mechanics including atom interferometry, quantum optics, Heisenberg limited interferometry, superradiance, ultra-cold gas dynamics, trapped-ion physics, dynamical decoupling and quantum weak measurement.  Currently he is the principal investigator leading the Trapped Ion Quantum Control group stationed at Stellenbosch University through a joint effort with the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research.

Tel: 021-808-3371

PhD. Students

Naleli Matjelo


Nancy Payne

After 21 years of rain in the UK and armed with a BA in physics from the University of Oxford, Nancy decided there must be more to the world and went travelling. She spent four months at Tsinghua University (Beijing) at the Centre for Biomedical Imaging Research, involved with a project on MRI sequences for characterising liver disease. This was followed by an MSc in ultrafast electron diffraction on organic crystals at the University of Stellenbosch. In July 2017 Nancy joined the ion trap group as a PhD student and her work will focus on quantum weak measurements.

Email: ​


Byron Alexander 

Byron completed a BSc in pure mathematics and astronomy at the University of Cape Town. He went on to do honours and masters in pure mathematics also at the University of Cape Town. He is currently a PhD student studying theoretical physics with a focus on quantum measurement theory.

Masters Students

Deon Janse van Rensburg

Deon hails from the coastal town of Knysna, South Africa. He completed his BSc and Bsc Hons in Physics at Stellenbosch University and was awarded Stellenbosch University's Meiring Naude Medal for Physics for his academic achievement during his BSc Hons degree. Deon joined the group in 2019 as a MSc student.



Jason Webster​

Charles Rigby - ASML​

Ncamiso Khanyile - Department of Chemistry, University of Cape Town

​Philipp Uhrich - École Polytechnique Fédéral Lausanne

Shaun Burd - Ion Storage Group, National Institute of Standards and Tech​nolo​gy ​

Attie Hendriks - ​​National Laser Centre, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research

Nicolene Botha - Modelling and Digital Science, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research​ ​

Ismail Akhalwaya - IBM South Africa​​