Welcome to Stellenbosch University

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Welcome​​​ to the Department of Physics​​​​​​​​​​

The Physics Department at Stellenbosch University strives to be the institution of choice in South Africa for study and research in three major disciplines; Nuclear Physics, Theoretical Physics and  Laser Physics.

We offer focussed study programmes in Nuclear, Radiation and Health Physics, Theoretical Physics and Laser Physics. The undergraduate programmes provide a general foundation in the fundamentals of physics, with focussed BScHons programmes which specialize in the abovementioned focus areas. These focus areas feed directly into the established research activities in Nuclear Physics, Theoretical Physics and Laser Physics which provide opportunities for MSc and PhD studies.

Research in the department is closely aligned to appropriate national centres and facilities: The Institute for Theoretical Physics collaborates closely with the National Institute for Theoretical Physics, the Laser Research Institute with the CSIR National Laser Centre, and the Nuclear Physics group with iThemba LABS.

If you are interested in registering for a postgraduate degree, please complete the online registration on the University's main page.  Please also ensure that you contact the Physics Department personally.  We can then track your application process and ensure a speedy application.