Integrated Pest Management Initiative
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Staff and Students

​​Academic Staff


Pia Addison​​
​Associate Professor
Integrated Pest Management
pia@sun.ac.za
+27218084671​

John Terblanche
Professor
Applied Physiological 
jst@sun.ac.za
+27218089225


Antoinette Malan
Associate Professor
Entomopathogenic Nematodes and Fungi
apm@sun.ac.za
+27 21 808 3299

​Nomakholwa Stokwe
Lecturer: Nematology
Entomopathogenic Nematodes and Fungi
nfs@sun.ac.za
+27 21 808 2546


​Researchers

​Shelley Johnson
Controlled Atmosphere and Temperature Treatment System (CATTS)​
sjohnson@sun.ac.za
+27 21 808 2694​

​Minette Karsten
Insect Physiology and Genetics
minettek@sun.ac.za
Matthew Addison
Integrated Pest Management
mfa@sun.ac.za
+27 21 808 9517

Matthew Addison.jpg
​Post Doctoral Fellows

Francois Gulu Bekker
Machine Learning, Integrated Pest Management
gulu@sun.ac.za
Gulu Bekker.jpg
​Leigh Steyn
Integrated Pest Management
torrance@sun.ac.za
Renate Smit
Controlled Atmosphere and Temperature Treatment System
rsmit@sun.ac.za​

Annika Pieterse
Biocontrol potential of mollusc-parasitic nematodes, Consolidoc 
annikapieterse@sun.ac.za

Annika Pieterse.jpg
​​PhD Students
Caro Kapp
Nematodes as bioindicators of Soil Health
ckapp@sun.ac.za

Caro Kapp.jpg
​Francois du Preez
Biological control options against false codling moth
fdupreez@sun.ac.za
Lethodi Mathulwe
Control of Obscure mealybug using entomopathogenic fungi
mathulwell@sun.ac.za


Erika Huisamen
Gene flow and transcriptomics of false codling moth
eopperman@sun.ac.za

Erika Huisamen.jpg
Henriek Bosua
Nutritional physiology of invasive Tephritidae
henriekb@sun.ac.za

​Davina Saccaggi
Factors involved in the spread of invasive Acari
DavinaS@daff.gov.za
​Murray Dunn
In vitro culture of entomopathogenic nematodes
mdunn94@sun.ac.za


​MSc Students​
Abu Nxitywa
Formulation of entomopathogenic nematodes
anxi@sun.ac.za

Abdul Jacobs
Collembola as soil health indicators
agj@sun.ac.za


​Amandrie Louw
Insect diversity in annual crops
amandrie@sun.ac.za
Amandrie Louw.jpg
Ansuli Theron
Cover crops
ansuli@sun.ac.za

​Amy Collop
Population genetic structure of Harmonia axyridis

Chantelle Smit
Host shift determination and digestive physiology of insect pests

​Makhosazana Ngwenya
CATTS for the control of Western flower thrips
mngwenya@sun.ac.za

Makhosazana.jpg
​Susana das Neves
Biological control of Bagrada bug
sdasneves@sun.ac.za


​Steffan Hansen
Physiology and taxonomy of banded fruit weevil
shansen@sun.ac.za

Steffan Hansen.jpg
​Thabo Mugala
Ecology of Liriomyza leafminer on potatoes
tmugala@sun.ac.za
Thabu Mugala.jpg
​​