Virology
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Division of Medical Virology

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Professor and Head of Division

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
​​​

Prof Wolfgang Preiser
Head: Division of Medical Virology
Pathologist / Consultant Virologist
Tel: 021 938 9353​​​
Room 8080
Email: p​reiser@sun.ac.za
Mrs Elrezea James​
Principal Secretary to Head of Division
Tel: 021 938 9354
Room 8078
Email: elrezea@sun.ac.za​


​Pathologists / Consultants

​​



Prof Gert van Zyl
Pathologist / Consultant Virologist
Tel: 021 938 9691
Room 8082
Email: guvz@sun.ac.za
​​​Nokwasi Nkosi 2018.JPG
Dr Nokwazi Nkosi
Pathologist / Consultant Virologist
Tel: 021 938 9057
room 8047
Email: nokwazi@sun.ac.za
​​​Nokwasi Nkosi 2018.JPG
Dr Corena de Beer
Principal Medical Scientist
Tel: 021 938 9453
Room 8002
Email: cdeb@sun.ac.za
Nokwasi Nkosi 2018.JPG
Dr Tongai Maponga
Researcher
Tel: 021 938 9356
Room 8089
Email: tongai@sun.ac.za

​​Registrars


Nokwasi Nkosi 2018.JPG
Dr Yoliswa Chili
Virology Registrar
Tel: 021 938 9347
Room 8035
Email: yoliswa.chili@nhls.ac.za
Nokwasi Nkosi 2018.JPG
Dr Emilia Wilson
Virology Registrar
Tel: 021 938 9347
Room 8035
Email: emilia.wilson@nhls.ac.za
Nokwasi Nkosi 2018.JPG
Dr Menzi Nkosi
Virology Registrar
Tel: 021 938 9347
Room 8035
Email: menzi.nkosi@nhls.ac.za



Research Assis​tants





Mr Dustin Bosch
Research Coordinator
Tel: 021 938 9744
Room 8103
Email: dustinb@sun.ac.za​
​​
Mr Jan de Wit
Research Assistant
Tel:  021 938 9745
Room 8103
Email: jdewit@sun.ac.za
Carli van Zyl 2018.JPG
Ms Carli Gordijn
Research Assistant
Tel: 021 938 9360
Room 8121
Email: carlivanzyl@sun.ac.za

Ms Jenna Annandale

Research Assistant
Tel: 021 938 9360
Room 8089
Email: annandale@sun.ac.za

Ms Nicola Coetzee
Research Assistant
Tel: 021 938 9356
Room 8089
Email: nicolacoetzee@sun.ac.za

Mrs Shannon Wilson
Research Assistant
Tel: 021 938 9356
Room 8089
Email: swilson@sun.ac.za

Ms Kim Roberts
HSRC Intern Scientist
Tel: 021 938 9356
Room 8089
Email: robertsonk@sun.ac.za
​​

​​Extraordinary Appointments in Medical Virology

Susan Engelbrecht 2018.JPG

Jean Maritz.jpeg
Howard Newman.jpeg
Prof Susan Engelbrechtz
Emeritus Professor 
Stellenbosch University
Email:   susanen@sun.ac.za
Dr Jean Maritz
Extraordinary Senior Lecturer 
in Medical Virology
Email: jean.maritz@pathcare.org
Dr Howard Newman
Extraordinary Senior Lecturer  
in Medical Virology
Email: howard.newman@pathcare.org
Monique Andersson.jpg

Jeff Dorfman.jpg
Prof Monique Andersson
Extraordinary Associate Prof. 
in Medical Virology
Email: Monique.Andersson@ouh.nhs.uk
​​Prof Stephanie Plön
Extraordinary Associate Prof. 
in Medical Virology
Email: stephanie.ploen@gmail.com
Prof Jeffrey Dorfman
Extraordinary Prof.​in Medical Virology 
Email: dorfman@sun.ac.za ​

Laboratory Assistants/Clerk



Michelle Tango 2018.JPG
Zola Masizana 2018.jpg
Louisa Booi 2018.jpg
Mrs Michelle Tango
Laboratory Assistant​
Tel:  021 938 9557 / 4931
Email: michelle.tango@nhls.ac.za
Ms Zola Masizana
Laboratory Assistant
Tel: 021 938  9557 / 4931
Email: zola.masizana@nhls.ac.za
Ms Louisa Booi
Laboratory Clerk
Tel: 021 938 9557 / 4931
Email: louisa.booi@nhls.ac.za
​​

NHLS diagnostic Services        ​          National Health Laboratory Services​​     ​


Ms Tania Stander
NHLS Laboratory Manager
Tel: 021 938 9355
Room 8086
ts2@sun.ac.za
Zwelethu Kashe 2018.jpg
Mr Trevor Ngobeni
Medical Scientist
ntrevor.ngobeni@nhls.ac.za


Mr Delonzo Adriaanse
Medical Technologist
delonzo.adriaanse@nhls.ac.za

Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Ms Mathilda Claassen
Medical Techologist
mc@sun.ac.za

Mr Adam Clark
Medical Technologist
adam.clark@nhls.ac.za

Mr Iviwe Diko
Medical Technologist
iviwe.diko@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Ms Vereshnee Govender
Medical Technologist
vereshnee.govender@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Mr Zwelethu Kashe
Medical Technologist
zweletu.kashe@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Ms Ziyanda Mngeni
Medical Technologist
Ziyanda.mngeni@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Mrs Amanda Moelich
Medical Tec​hnologist
amanda.moelich@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Mrs Renata Oelofse
Medical Technologist
renata.lubbe@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Mrs Gilda Dlani-Bam
Medical Technician
nolufefe.dlani@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Ms Zola Masizana
Laboratory Assistant
zola.masizana@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Mrs Michelle Tango
Laboratory Assistant
michelle.tango@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Ms Louisa Booi
Laboratory Clerk
louisa.booi@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
​​Mr Nowell Gontsana
Laboratory Clerk
nowell.gontsana@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Mrs Donna Mbewu
NHLS Cleaner / Messenger



Research Interns​​



Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Ms Ivoné Snyders
Intern Medical Technologist
ivone.snyders@nhls.ac.za

Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Ms Bonke Mtshoniswa
Intern Medical Technologist
bonke.mtshoniswa@nhls.ac.za

Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Ms Tina Kapiyana
Intern Medical Technologist
tina.kapiyana@nhls.ac.za

Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Ms Lutho Menyane
HPCSA / NHLS Intern Scientist
lutho.menyane@nhls.ac.za

Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Mr Lwando Somhlahlo
HPCSA / NHLS Intern Scientist
lwando.somhlahla@nhls.ac.za

Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Mr Ruhan van Huyssteen
HPCSA / NHLS Intern Scientist
ruhan.vanhuyssteen@nhls.ac.za

Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Ms Bianca Hamman

HPCSA / NHLS Intern Scientist
bianca.hamman@nhls.ac.za

Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Mr Wikus Bergh
Intern Scientist
wikus.bergh@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Ms Faatiemah Higgins
Intern
faatiemah.higgins@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Ms Lumka Gcwabe
Intern
lumka.gcwabe@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Mr Sbonelo Khanyile
Intern
sbonelo.khanyile@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Ms Anja le Grange
Intern
anja.legrange@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg
Ms Nelisa Mbambalala
Intern
nelisa.mbambalala@nhls.ac.za



​​

General Assistants


​​Donna Mbewu.JPG
Portia Bhexesha 2018.jpg


Ms Donna Mbewu
NHLS General Assistant​

Mrs Portia Bhexesha
NHLS Cleaner


​ ​