Virology
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Division of Medical Virology

​​​​​​​​​​​​Professor and Head of Division

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Sal van Zyl 2020 (edited).jpg
Prof Wolfgang Preiser
​Pathologist / Consultant Virologist
Tel: 021 938 9353​​​
Email: p​reiser@sun.ac.za

Mrs Sal van Zyl
Principal Secretary to Head of Division
Tel: 021 938 9354
Email: sal@sun.ac.za​

​Pathologists / Consultants



​​
Annabel Enoch 2019.jpg
​Prof Gert van Zyl
Pathologist / Consultant Virologist
Tel: 021 938 9691
Email: guvz@sun.ac.za
Dr Nokwazi Nkosi
Pathologist / Consultant Virologist
Tel: 021 938 9057
Email: nokwazi@sun.ac.za

Dr Annabel Enoch
Pathologist / Consultant Virologist
Tel: 021 927 7036
Email: annabelenoch@sun.ac.za

Medical ​Scientists



Trevor Ngobeni.JPG
Prof Susan Engelbrecht
Principal Medical Scientist
Tel: 021 938 9357
Email: susanen@sun.ac.za​
Dr Corena de Beer
Principal Medical Scientist
Tel: 021 938 9453
Email: cdeb@sun.ac.za
​Mr Trevor Ngobeni
Medical Scientist

Email: trevor.ngobeni@nhls.ac.za

​​Registrars







Dr Kamela Mahlakwane
Virology Registrar
Tel: 021 938 9347
Email: kamela.mahlakwane@nhls.ac.za
Dr Emilia Wilson
Virology Registrar
Tel: 021 9389347
Email: emilia.wilson@nhls.ac.za
Dr Yoliswa Chili
​Virology Registrar
Tel: 021 9389347
Email: yoliswa.chili@nhls.ac.za

​​Researchers/Lecturers





​​

Dr Tongai Maponga
Research Fellow/Lecturer
Tel: 021 938 9356
Email: tongai@sun.ac.za​

Dr Graeme Jacobs
Senior Lecturer
Tel: 021 938 9744
Email: graeme@sun.ac.za

​Extraordinary Appointments in Medical Virology

Jean Maritz.jpeg

Howard Newman.jpeg
Dr Jean Maritz
Extraordinary Senior Lecturer 
in Medical Virology
Email: jean.maritz@pathcare.org

Dr Howard Newman
Extraordinary Senior Lecturer  
in Medical Virology
Email: howard.newman@nhls.ac.za
Monique Andersson.jpg

Jeff Dorfman.jpg
Prof Monique Andersson
Extraordinary Associate Prof. 
in Medical Virology
Email: Monique.Andersson@ouh.nhs.uk
​​
Prof Jeffrey Dorfman
Extraordinary Associate Prof.​in Medical Virology 
Email: jeffrey.dorfman@wits.ac.za

NHLS diagnostic Services        ​          National Health Laboratory Services​​     ​


Zwelethu Kashe 2018.jpg

Ms Tania Stander
Laboratory Manager
Tel: 021 938 9355
Email: ts2@sun.ac.za
Mr Zwelethu Kashe
Medical Technologist
Tel: 021 938 4001
Email: zweletu.kashe@nhls.ac.za​
Mr Adam Clark
Medical Technologist
Tel:  021 938 9348
Email: adam.clark@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg


Ms Mathilda Claassen
Medical Techologist
Tel: 021 938 9555
Email:mc@sun.ac.za
Mrs Amanda Moelich
Medical Technologist
Tel: 021 938 9348
Email: amanda.moelich@nhls.ac.za
Mrs Renata Oelofse
Medical Technologist
Tel: 021 938 9555
Email: renata.lubbe@nhls.ac.za
​​Louise Wilsdorf 2018.jpg


Mrs Louise Wilsdorf
Medical Technologist
Tel: 021 938 4001
Email: louise.wilsdof@nhls.ac.za
Mrs Gilda Dlani-Bam
Medical Technologist
Tel: 021 938 9348
Email: nolufefe.dlani@nhls.ac.za
Ms Ziyanda Mngeni
Medical Technologist
Tel: 021 938 9555
Email: Ziyanda.mngeni@nhls.ac.za
​​Saraah Khan 2018.JPG

Vereshnee Govender 2019.jpg
Mrs Saarah Khan
Medical Technologist
Tel: 021 938 4001
Email: saraah.isaacs@nhls.ac.za​
Mr Iviwe Diko
Medical Technologist
Tel: 021 938 9348
Email: iviwe.diko@nhls.ac.za
Ms Vereshnee Govender
Medical Technologist
Tel: 021 938 9348
Email: vereshnee.govender@nhls.ac.za​
Michelle Tango 2018.JPG
Zola Masizana 2018.jpg
Louisa Booi 2018.jpg
Mrs Michelle Tango
Laboratory Assistant​
Tel:  021 938 9557 / 4931
Email: michelle.tango@nhls.ac.za

Ms Zola Masizana
Laboratory Assistant
Tel: 021 938 4931 / 9557
Email: zola.masizana@nhls.ac.za

Ms Louisa Booi
Laboratory Clerk
Tel: 021 938 9557
Email: louisa.booi@nhls.ac.za

Research Assistants





Delonzo Adriaanse.jpg
Mr Jan de Wit
Research Assistant
Tel:  021 938 9745
Email: jdewit@sun.ac.za
Ms Kirsten Veldsman
Research Assistant
Tel: 021 938 9360
Email: kirstenveldsman@sun.ac.za
​Mr Delonzo Adriaanse
NHLS Intern
Tel: 021 9384001
Email: delonzo.adriaanse@nhls.co.za

​Int​​erns​



Robyn Conrad.jpg




Ms Robyn Conrad
NRF Intern
Tel: 021 938 9356
Email: robync@sun.ac.za​


General Assistants


Elisa Sibiya 2018.jpg


Portia Bhexesha 2018.jpg
Ms Elisa Sibiya
General Assistant


Mrs Portia Bhexesha
NHLS Cleaner

​ ​​