Virology
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Division of Medical Virology

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Professor and Head of Division

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
​​
Sal van Zyl 2020 (edited).jpg
Prof Wolfgang Preiser
Head: Division of Medical Virology
Pathologist / Consultant Virologist
Tel: 021 938 9353​​​
Email: p​reiser@sun.ac.za


Mrs Sal van Zyl
Principal Secretary to Head of Division
Tel: 021 938 9354
Email: sal@sun.ac.za​

​Pathologists / Consultants

​​



​​​


Nokwasi Nkosi 2018.JPG
​Prof Gert van Zyl
Pathologist / Consultant Virologist
Tel: 021 938 9691
Email: guvz@sun.ac.za

Dr Nokwazi Nkosi
Pathologist / Consultant Virologist
Tel: 021 938 9057
Email: nokwazi@sun.ac.za

Medical ​Scientists / Lecturers





Dr Corena de Beer
Principal Medical Scientist
Tel: 021 938 9453
Email: cdeb@sun.ac.za​

Dr Tongai Maponga
Research Fellow/Lecturer
Tel: 021 938 9356
Email: tongai@sun.ac.za​

​​Registrars



Emilia Wilson.jpg
Yoliswa Chili.jpg
Dr Kamela Mahlakwane
Virology Registrar
Tel: 021 938 9347
Email: kamela.mahlakwane@nhls.ac.za
Dr Emilia Wilson
Virology Registrar
Tel: 021 9389347
Email: emilia.wilson@nhls.ac.za
Dr Yoliswa Chili
​Virology Registrar
Tel: 021 9389347
Email: yoliswa.chili@nhls.ac.za

​Medical Officers ​

Menzi Nkosi.jpg
Misha Jivan.JPG
Candice Wood.jpg
Dr Menzi Nkosi
Community Service Medical Officer
Email: menzi.nkosi@nhls.co.za​
Dr Misha Jivan
Community Service Medical Officer
Email: misha.jivan@nhls.ac.za
Dr Candice Wood
Community Service Medical Officer
Email: candice.wood@nhls.ac.za

Research Coordinator


Research Fellow

Brighton Mutepfe.JPG

Ian Botha 2018.jpg
Mr Brighton Mutepfe
Research Coordinator
Tel: 021 938 9744
Email: mutepfe@sun.ac.za

​​Dr Ian Botha
Research Fellow
Tel: 021 938 9360
Email: bothajc@sun.a​c

​Extraordinary Appointments in Medical Virology

Susan Engelbrecht 2018.JPG

Jean Maritz.jpeg
Howard Newman.jpeg
Prof Susan Engelbrechtz
Emeritus Professor 
Stellenbosch University
Email:   susanen@sun.ac.za
Dr Jean Maritz
Extraordinary Senior Lecturer 
in Medical Virology
Email: jean.maritz@pathcare.org
Dr Howard Newman
Extraordinary Senior Lecturer  
in Medical Virology
Email: howard.newman@pathcare.org
Monique Andersson.jpg

Jeff Dorfman.jpg
Prof Monique Andersson
Extraordinary Associate Prof. 
in Medical Virology
Email: Monique.Andersson@ouh.nhs.uk
​​Prof Stephanie Plön
Extraordinary Associate Prof. 
in Medical Virology
Email: stephanie.ploen@gmail.com
Prof Jeffrey Dorfman
Extraordinary Associate Prof.​in Medical Virology 
Email: jeffrey.dorfman@wits.ac.za

NHLS diagnostic Services        ​          National Health Laboratory Services​​     ​


Zwelethu Kashe 2018.jpg

Ms Tania Stander
Laboratory Manager
Tel: 021 938 9355
Email: ts2@sun.ac.za
Mr Zwelethu Kashe
Medical Technologist
Tel: 021 938 9348
Email: zweletu.kashe@nhls.ac.za​
Mr Adam Clark
Medical Technologist
Tel:  021 938 9348
Email: adam.clark@nhls.ac.za
Mathilda Claassen 2018.jpg


Ms Mathilda Claassen
Medical Techologist
Tel: 021 938 9555
Email:mc@sun.ac.za
Mrs Amanda Moelich
Medical Technologist
Tel: 021 938 9348
Email: amanda.moelich@nhls.ac.za
Mrs Renata Oelofse
Medical Technologist
Tel: 021 938 9555
Email: renata.lubbe@nhls.ac.za
​​
Vereshnee Govender 2019.jpg

Mrs Gilda Dlani-Bam
Medical Technologist
Email: nolufefe.dlani@nhls.ac.za
Ms Vereshnee Govender
Medical Technologist
Email: vereshnee.govender@nhls.ac.za
Ms Ziyanda Mngeni
Medical Technologist
Email: ziyanda.mngeni@nhls.ac.za
​​​

Trevor Ngobeni.JPG
Mr Iviwe Diko
Medical Technologist
Email: iviwe.diko@nhls.ac.za

Mr Trevor Ngobeni
Medical Scientist / MSc student
Email: trevor.ngobeni@nhls.ac.za

Research Interns​​



Delonzo Adriaanse.jpg
Elanda Relling.jpg
Lutho Menyane.jpg
Mr Delonzo Adriaanse
NHLS Intern Medical Scientist
Email: delonzo.adriaanse@nhls.co.za
Ms Elanda Relling-Snyman
NHLS Intern Medical Scientist
Email: elanda.relling@nhls.ac.za

Ms Lutho Menyane
NHLS Intern Medical Scientist
Email: lutho.menyane@nhls.ac.za
Lwando Somhlahlo.jpg
Bianca Hamman.jpg
Ruhan van Huyssteen.JPG
Mr Lwando Somhlahlo
NHLS Intern Medical Scientist
Email: lwando.somhlahlo@nhls.ac.za
Ms Bianca Hamman
NHLS Intern Medical Scientist
Email: bianca.hamman@nhls.ac.za
Mr Ruhan van Huyssteen
NHLS Intern Medical Scientist
Email: ruhan.vanhuyssteen@nhls.ac.za
Sanelisiwe Fourteen.JPG
Sbonela Kanyile.jpg
Nicola Coetzee.JPG
Ms Sanelisiwe Fourteen
NHLS Intern Medical Scientist
Email: sanelle4teen@gmail.com
Mr Khanyile Sbonelo
NHLS Intern Medical Scientist
Email: sbonelo.khanyile@nhls.ac.za
Ms Nicola Coetzee
NHLS Intern Medical Scientist
Email: nicolactz2@gmail.com

Mivuyo Ngxabani.jpg

Shaida van de Rheede.JPG
Mr Mivuyo Ngxabani
NHLS Intern Medical Scientist
Email: mivuyodave@gmail.com


Mrs Shaida Van De Rheede
NHLS Intern Medical Scientist
Email: shaidameyer15@gmail.com

Research Assis​tants





​​

Mr Jan de Wit
Research Assistant
Tel:  021 938 9745
Email: jdewit@sun.ac.za

Ms Kirsten Veldsman
Research Assistant
Tel: 021 938 9360
Email: kirsten.veldsman@nhls.ac.za​



Carli van Zyl 2018.JPG
Ms Jenna Annandale
Research Assistant
Tel: 021 938 9360
Email: annandale@sun.ac.za

Ms Carli van Zyl
Research Assistant
Tel: 021 938 9360
Email: carlivanzyl@sun.ac.za
​​​Laboratory Assistants/Clerk


Michelle Tango 2018.JPG
Zola Masizana 2018.jpg
Louisa Booi 2018.jpg
Mrs Michelle Tango
Laboratory Assistant​
Tel:  021 938 9557 / 4931
Email: michelle.tango@nhls.ac.za
Ms Zola Masizana
Laboratory Assistant
Tel: 021 938  9557 / 4931
Email: zola.masizana@nhls.ac.za
Ms Louisa Booi
Laboratory Clerk
Tel: 021 938 9557 / 4931
Email: louisa.booi@nhls.ac.za

General Assistants


​​Donna Mbewu.JPG

Portia Bhexesha 2018.jpg
Ms Donna Mbewu
NHLS General Assistant​


Mrs Portia Bhexesha
NHLS Cleaner


​ ​​