​​​​​​The Team


Welgevallen Community Psychology Clinic is proudly run by a strong team of dedicated staff members, including:

Professor Mark Tomlinson

Course Coordinator for the Masters in Clinical Psychology and Community Counselling programme at Stellenbosch   University

  • • ​Registered Clinical Psychologist

                      • Special interest in Infant and Child development in the context of adversity

Dr. Elmien Lesch

• Programme co-coordinator for the Masters in Clinical Psychology and Community Counselling programme at       Stellenbosch University
• Registered Clinical Psychologist
• Special interest in Close Relationships and Relationship Interventions

   Ms Megan Snow

  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Welgevallen Community Psychology Clinic Manager
  • Registered Clinical Psychologist
  • Special interest in Children and Adolescents, Depression and Anxiety

Ms Ursula Hartzenberg 
• Senior Departmental Official (since 2004)

Student Psychologists, 2016:

  • Amy Glover
  • Chantal Scoble 
  • Elsabe Grotzinger
  • Jacqueline Clark
  • Jenavieve Ferreira
  • Katharine James
  • Laura Bester
  • Louise Hartwig
  • Melinda Fouche              
  • Sybrand Hagan

​Master’s Programme in Clinical Psychology and Community Counselling: Academic Curriculum 

Psychodiagnostics and Assessment

      Module co-ordinators: Dr Chrisma Pretorius and Dr Jason Bantjies

 Psychodynamic Psychotherapies

      Module co-ordinator: Professor Lou-Marie Kruger

 Cognitive and Behavioural Therapies

      Module co-ordinator: Dr Le Roux van der Westhuizen

 Community Psychology and Group Interventions

      Module co-ordinator: Professor Tony Naidoo

 Working with Children and Families

      Module co-ordinator: Dr Elmien Lesch


      Module co-ordinator: Ms. Diane Nel​

 Lecturers and Supervisors (who support the training and practical work of the student psychologists at Welgevallen):

Dr. Jason Bantjes Lecturer 

Dr. Chrisma Pretorius – Lecturer

Dr. Le Roux van der Westhuizen – Lecturer and CBT advisor

Tamara Cilliers – Lecturer and CBT advisor

Professor Tony Naidoo Lecturer and Community Placement Supervisor

Dr. Elmien Lesch – Lecturer

Professor Helen Loxton – Lecturer

Diane Nel – Lecturer and Individual Supervisor

Astrid Martalas – Lecturer

Claire Haggard – Individual Supervisor and Community Placement Supervisor

Abraham Le Roux – Individual Supervisor

Liezl van Rooyen – Individual Supervisor

Annemarie Leuvennink – Individual Supervisor

Professor Ashraf Kagee – Community Placement Supervisor

Professor Lou-Marie Kruger – Lecturer, Individual Supervisor, Community Placement Supervisor

Dirk du Toit – Individual Supervisor

Professor Mark Tomlinson – Lecturer 

Shireen van Wyk – Community Placement Supervisor​​