



THE STUDENT ELECTORAL COMMISSION 2022

SRC GENERAL ELECTION RESULTS

To the SU Student Body

ELECTIONS

The Electoral Commission held the Students' Representative Council (SRC) General Election from 08 August 2022 at 08h00 to 12 August 2022 at 23h59. The Candidates were given an opportunity to speak to students at 7 presentation meetings convened by the Electoral Commission between 04 August 2022 and 12 August 2022. There were 9 positions on the SRC that were available.13 candidates stood for election.

In the election Students were allowed 1 vote per position on the SRC. Students voted online via the MySun voting platform.

The following is a breakdown of the election participation:

No. of nominations received: [19]

No. of Candidates: [13]

No. of voters: [29 646]

No. of Votes received: [2618] (8.83% turnout)

No. of Valid votes: [2618]

Threshold for successful election: First-Past-the-Post

Results

After the votes were tallied, the following are the results for each of the Candidates -

Candidate(s): APHIWE SITHOLE, BANZI BOTTOMAN, CHRIS BRIEL, DYLAN SCHMIDT, JESSICA WINN, MASILO SILOKAZI, MIEKE SMIT, PHIWOKUHLE QABAKA, PRINCE QENGQA, QUEEN MAJIKIJELA, SIMONET KAPP, TAKADIWA CHIPFUMBU, WILLIAM SEZOE.

No. of valid votes: [2618]

No. of Votes abstaining: [N/A]

Resolution No. 64





No. of Votes for PHIWOKUHLE QABAKA	1421
No. of Votes for QUEEN MAJIKIJELA	1388
No. of Votes for MASILO SILOKAZI	1134
No. of Votes for PRINCE QENGQA	1010
No. of Votes for BANZI BOTTOMAN	946
No. of Votes for APHIWE SITHOLE	934
No. of Votes for CHRIS BRIEL	931
No. of Votes for TAKADIWA CHIPFUMBU	859
No. of Votes for WILLIAM SEZOE	821
No. of Votes for DYLAN SCHMIDT	735
No. of Votes for SIMONET KAPP	639
No. of Votes for MIEKE SMIT	617
No. of Votes for JESSICA WINN	593

DECLARATION:

APHIWE SITHOLE, BANZI BOTTOMAN, CHRIS BRIEL, MASILO SILOKAZI, PHIWOKUHLE QABAKA, PRINCE QENGQA, QUEEN MAJIKIJELA, TAKADIWA CHIPFUMBU, WILLIAM SEZOE have been duly elected as members of the Students' Representative Council 2022/2023.

Objections and withdrawals

Any objections to procedures during the elections or the validity of the result may be submitted to the Electoral Commission's Director of Compliance and Oversight (srcelection@sun.ac.za) within forty-eight (48) hours of this announcement.

Any written decision of the Electoral Commission regarding an objection can be reviewed by the Student Court.

Candidates may only withdraw their election by submitting a written resignation. In this case a new vacancy is created, and all constitutional protocols for the replacement will be followed.

Thank you

Yanga Kéva

Chief Electoral Officer

Student Electoral Commission



DATED:16/08/2022





ELECTION RESULTS GUIDELINES

The following rules must be complied with when election results are announced. are lodged with the Electoral Commission.

1 Publication of Election Results

- (1) Results of the elections of the SRC and the Executive Committees of structures represented on the SRC
 - (a) All votes must be counted by the Electoral Commission as soon as possible after the last opportunity for voting.
 - (b) Ballots may not be destroyed before the validity of the election has been confirmed.
 - (c) The full results of the SRC election must be announced in public as soon as possible after all the votes have been counted and the full written results, in accordance with Annexure 2, must be published electronically and sent to all students.
 - (d) The full election results for the Executive Committees of structures represented on the SRC must be announced in public as soon as possible after all the votes have been counted and the full written results, in accordance with Annexure 2, must be published electronically and sent to all the members of the structure concerned.
- (2) Results of elections for student structures
 - (a) The following structures must ensure that their election results are announced in public as soon as possible after all the votes have been counted and the full written results, in accordance with Annexure 2, must be published electronically and sent to all the members of the structure concerned –
 - (i) Faculty Committees
 - (ii) House Committees
 - (iii) Society Executive Committees





(3) All student leadership structures must ensure that their election results, prepared in accordance with Annexure 2, are readily available to their constituents and at the request of the Electoral Commission.