

## HEALTH RESEARCH ETHICS COMMITTEE 1 (HREC 1)

## **Committee Members 2023**

	Chair	
1.	Marilize Burger, PhD	Division of Orthopedic Surgery, Dept. of Surgical Sciences, FMHS, SU
	Vice Chair	
2.	Cedric Werely, PhD	Division of Molecular Biology & Human Genetics, Dept of Biomedical Sciences, FMHS, SU.
3.	Rose Richards, PhD	Research and Writing Lab, SU Language Centre
	Secretary	
4.	Melody Shana, BSc, PGDip Health Research Ethics, MPhil Applied Ethics (Bioethics)	Health Research Ethics Office, Division of Research Internationalisation Development & Support, FMHS, SU.
	Ex officio members	
5.	Charmaine Khumalo, BSc Hons Medical Microbiology, MSc Bioethics & Health Law	<b>Health Research Ethics</b> Office, Division of Research Internationalisation Development & Support, FMHS, SU.
6.	Nicola Barsdorf, MHS PhD	Research Integrity Office, Division for Research Development, SU
0	General members	
7.	Nezerith Cengiz, BHSc Public Health, BHSc Honours; MSc	Centre for Medical Ethics and Law, Dept of Medicine, FMHS, SU.
3.	Alrese Cloete, MBChB, MMed (O&G) FCOG (SA)	Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, FMHS, SU.
Э.	Shaun Barnabas, MBChB, ACLS, PLS, DCH, FC Paed	Children's Infectious Diseases Clinical Research Unit/ Family Clinical Research Unit (FAMCRU/KIDCRU), <b>Dept of Paediatrics and Child Health,</b> FMHS, SU.
LO.	Yolandi Brink, MSc, BSc, PhD	Division of Physiotherapy, Dept of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, FMHS, SU.
L1.	Ursula Botha , MBChB, MMed (Psych) PhD	Department of Psychiatry, FMHS, SU.
12.	<ul> <li>Sean Chetty, MBChB, DCH,FCA,PhD</li> <li>Simone Piovesan, MBChB,DA,FCA</li> </ul>	Department of Anaesthesiology and Critical Care, FMHS, SU.
13.	Moleen Dzikiti, Msc, PhD	Division of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Dept of Global Health, FMHS, SU
L4.	Jerusha Naidoo, LLB	Division for Information Governance, SU
15.	Pedro Fernandez, BSc Hons (Biochemistry), PhD (Med Sci.Genetics)	Division of Urology, Dept of Surgical Sciences, FMHS, SU
16.	Xanthe Hunt, PhD	Institute for Life Course Health Research, Dept of Global Health, FMHS, SU.
17.	<ul> <li>Ms Siphokazi Khonkwane</li> <li>Mr Godfrey Tabata</li> <li>Ms Lulutho Sisipho Tyityi</li> </ul>	Community Member
18.	Anusha Lachman, MBchB, MMed, PhD	Department of Psychiatry, FMHS, SU.
19.	Rhoda Meyer, PhD	Centre for Health Professions Education, Stellenbosch University. FMHS
20.	Sue-Ann Meehan, MA research Psychology, PhD	Desmond Tutu TB Centre (DTTC), <b>Dept of Paediatrics and Child Health,</b> FMHS, SU.
21.	Mark Tomlinson, BA, MA Clinical Psychology , PhD	Institute for Life Course Health Research, Dept of Global Health, FMHS, SU.
22.	Jeannine Nicol Uwimana, PhD	Centre for Evidence-based Health Care, Division Epidemiology and Biostatics, <b>Dept of Global Health</b> , FMHS, SU.
23.	Niel van Hoving, MBChB, MMed, MScMedSci	Division of Emergency Medicine, <b>Dept of Family and Emergency Medicine</b> , FMHS, SU.
24.	Lizelle van Wyk, MBChB, MMed (Paed)	Department of Paediatrics and Child Health, Stellenbosch University. FMHS, SU
25.	Dave Whitelaw, MBChB, MMed, PhD	Rheumatology, Division of Internal Medicine, <b>Dept of Medicine</b> , FMHS, SU.
26.	Georgina Spies, PhD	Department of Psychiatry, FMHS, SU