Undergraduate Research Ethics Committee (UREC) Members 2025

Name	Role	Department / Division / Centre	Email address
Prof Angela Dramowski	Chairperson	Paediatrics & Child Health	dramowski@sun.ac.za
Dr Janet Bell	Member (Vice Chairperson)	Nursing & Midwifery	jbell@sun.ac.za
Prof Renée Blaauw	Member	Human Nutrition	rb@sun.ac.za
Dr Erine Brocker	Member	Psychiatry	erineb@sun.ac.za
Dr Steve Jacobs	Member	Medical Physiology	stevejacobs@sun.ac.za
Dr Krisnah Keyser	Member	Paediatrics & Child Health	krisnah@sun.ac.za
Prof Sharon Kling	Member	Paediatrics & Child Health	sk@sun.ac.za
Ms Inge Sonn	Member & Coordinator	Undergraduate Research Office	ingeks@sun.ac.za
Mrs Helena Kruger	Member	Speech-Language & Hearing Therapy	oosthe@sun.ac.za
Dr Colette Pienaar	Member	Medical Microbiology	colette.pienaar@nhls.ac.za
Dr Phoebe Runciman	Member	Exercise, Sport & Lifestyle Medicine	para@sun.ac.za
Dr Sylnita Swartz-Filies	Member	Occupational Therapy	sylnita@sun.ac.za
Dr Leigh van den Heuvel	Member	Psychiatry	llvdh@sun.ac.za
Mr Adnil Titus	Member	Physiotherapy	atitus@sun.ac.za
Mrs Catherine De Wet	Member	Exercise, Sport & Lifestyle Medicine	cdewet@sun.ac.za
Dr Zarina Ebrahim	Member	Human Nutrition	zarina@sun.ac.za
Mrs Lauren Hendricks	Administrator	Research and Internationalisation Development and Support	laurenv@sun.ac.za