Contact Details

The aim of this brochure is to introduce you to Subcommittee C and to provide an overview of funding opportunities within the committee. If you require further information, feel free to contact:

Prof Nico C Gey van Pittius

researchfhs@sun.ac.za

Vice Dean: Research and Internationalisation, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (Chair: Subcommittee C)

> Dr Tania Brodovcky taniab@sun.ac.za

Head: Research Capacity Development & Funding, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (In support: Subcommittee C)

Dr Therina Theron

ttheron@sun.ac.za Senior Director: Research and Innovation

Subcommittee C meeting dates 2023

Agenda closes	Meeting date
16 January	30 January 2023
20 March	3 April 2023
29 May	12 June 2023
7 August	21 August 2023
9 October	23 October 2023

Other Committees

RESEARCH COMMITTEE

Overarching committee advising Senate on research policy and the advancement of research at Stellenbosch University.

SUBCOMMITTEE A

Committee responsible for the advancement of research in the following faculties: Arts and Social Sciences Education Law Theology Economic and Management Sciences Military Science

SUBCOMMITTEE B

Committee responsible for the advancement of research in the following faculties: Science AgriSciences Engineering

SUB-COMMITTEE DEALING WITH CENTRAL ANALYTICAL FACILITIES (CAF)

This committee is responsible for formulating policy, managing the CAF and advising the Senate on CAF issues.

ADVISORY COMMITTEE FOR LABORATORY EQUIPMENT (ALE)

Committee responsible for advising the Vice-rector (Research, Innovation & Postgraduate Studies) on the appropriation of central research funds reserved for the purchase of large research equipment.



Research Development and Support, Tygerberg Campus Stellenbosch University, PO Box 241, Cape Town, 8000 Tel: 021 938 9150 e-mail: taniab@sun.ac.za



UNIVERSITEIT•STELLENBOSCH•UNIVERSITY jou kennisvennoot • your knowledge partner

SUBCOMMITTEE C of the RESEARCH COMMITTEE

Committee responsible for the advancement of research in the:

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

CHAIR: Prof Nico C Gey van Pittius

IN SUPPORT: Dr Tania Brodovcky



February 2023

Background

The Senate has approved that the Research Committee appoint three subcommittees representative of the broad groupings within the sciences, known as A (for the arts and humanities), B (for basic and applied natural science and engineering) and C (for the health sciences), to advise it on its wider functions. Subcommittee C members are appointed biannually and the chairperson and vice chair are elected by the members of the committee. The Senior Director: Research and Innovation is an *ex officio* member of the committee.

Subcommittee C fulfils 3 main functions, namely:

- To advise the Research Committee on research policy matters
- Internal screening of NRF rating applications
- To allocate research funding

Funding opportunities within Subcommittee C

RESEARCH ASSISTANCE & TEMPORARY RESEACH ASSISTANCE

One- to four-year contract positions are made available to senior staff for assistance with research projects within the Faculty. **Closing date:** September

LECTURER REPLACEMENT FUND

This opportunity is earmarked for lecturing staff within the Allied Health Professions to alleviate part of their lecturing load for the advancement of their research. **Closing date:** March

POSTDOCTORAL FELLOWSHIPS

Subcommittee C co-funds postdoctoral fellowships at R220,000 each, which are awarded competitively to candidates who obtained their PhD degrees within the past 5 years. Applications are made by the hosts. **Closing date:** September

EARLY CAREER RESEARCH FUND

This funding is to enable early-career researchers to embark on a research project that would lead to the production of research outputs, which would enable them to apply for national or international grants. **Closing date:** March

FACULTY OF MEDICINE AND HEALTH SCIENCES OPEN ACCESS PUBLICATION FUND (FMHS-OAF)

Funding of up to R30,000 is provided to support payment of article processing charges (APC) for publications in peer-reviewed Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET)-accredited open access or hybrid journals.

Closing date: Ad hoc, any time of the year

SPECIAL SUPPORT SCHEME FOR RESEARCH (SSS/"SOS"-FUNDS)

À fixed amount (R8,000) is allocated annually for each publication unit earned for journal articles, books or book chapters and patents which qualify for a government subsidy from the Department of Higher Education and Training. This amount is paid into a central research account of each department / institute / centre / unit. The funds are made available by the chairperson to the researchers who have contributed to the publication units.

No application process

Research Ethics and Compliance

At SU, research ethics and compliancy is managed by the Senate Research Ethics Committee (SREC) and five Research Ethics Review Committees (RECs). Contacts for each of these committees are listed below:

- Senate Research Ethics Committee (SREC) Contact: Ms Maléne Fouché (mfouche@sun.ac.za)
- Research Ethics Committee: Humanities (REC: Humanities) Contact: Ms Clarissa Graham (cgraham@sun.ac.za)
- Health Research Ethics Committee 1 (HREC1) Contact: Ms Melody Shana (melodys@sun.ac.za)
- Health Research Ethics Committee 2 (HREC2) Contact: Ms Brightness Nxumalo (brightness@sun.ac.za)
 Research Ethics Committee: Animal Care and
- Research Ethics Committee: Animal Care and Use (REC: ACU) Contact: Mr Winston Beukes (wabeukes@sun.ac.za)
- Research Ethics Committee: Biosafety and Environmental Ethics (REC: BEE) Contact: Mr Winston Beukes (wabeukes@sun.ac.za)

Subcommittee C members

Prof Nico C Gey van Pittius | Chair Vice Dean: Research and Internationalisation

Dr Tania Brodovcky | In support Research Development and Support

Prof John M Akudugu	Medical Imaging and Clinical Oncoloy
Prof Renée Blaauw	Global Health
Prof Hennie (MH) Botha	Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Prof Jonathan A Carr	Medicine
Prof Katherine Chu	Global Health
Dr Ryan Davids	Anaesthesiology and Critical Care
Prof Jacques du Toit	Surgical Sciences
Prof Richard Glashoff	Pathology
Dr Liela Groenewald	Doctoral Support Office
Prof Sian MJ Hemmings	Psychiatry
Prof Portia J Jordan	Nursing and Midwifery
Prof Conran Joseph	Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
Dr Debbie Marais	Undergraduate Research Office
Prof Bob (RJ) Mash	Family and Emergency Medicine
Prof Elmi Muller	Dean: Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
Dr Nyambura Mwagiru	Tygerberg International Office
Prof Peter Nyasulu	Global Health
Dr Blanche ML Pretorius	Health Research Ethics Office
Prof Helena Rabie	Paediatrics and Child Health
Prof Samatha L Sampson	Biomedical Sciences
Prof Hans (JG) Strijdom	Biomedical Sciences
Dr Therina Theron	Senior Director: Research and Innovation
Prof Susan C van Schalkwyk	Centre for Health Professions Education
Prof Ronald Van Toorn	Paediatrics and Child Health
Prof Gerhard Walzl	Biomedical Sciences
Dr Karen Welman	Sport Science