

HEALTH RESEARCH ETHICS COMMITTEE 2 (HREC 2)

Committee Members 2019

Chair		
1	Anita van der Merwe, PhD	Department of Nursing & Midwifery, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
Vice Chairs		
2	Marilize Burger, PhD	Division of Orthopedic Surgery, Dept. of Surgical Sciences, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
	No member appointed	
	Secretary	
	Francis Masiye, MSc	Health Research Ethics Office, Division of Research Development & Support, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
	General members	
3	Elize Archer, PhD	Centre for Health Professions Education, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
4	Alida de Beer, MSc	Division of Speech-Language & Hearing Therapy, Dept. of Health & Rehabilitation Studies, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
5	Cathy Edwards	Community Member, C/O Division of Research Development & Support, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
6	Firnley Blouws, B.Ed. Hon	Community Member, C/O Division of Research Development & Support, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
7	Nicola Barsdorf, PhD	Health Research Ethics Office, Division of Research Development & Support, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
8	•Adrie Bekker, PhD • Gugu Kali, MMed	Department of Pediatrics and Child Health, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
9	Francois Bloem, LLB	General Law Practitioner, Bloem Attorneys, PO Box 1083, Wellington 7654
10	Razaan Davis, MMed, FCRad	Division of Radiodiagnosis , Dept. of Medical Imaging and Clinical Oncology, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
11	Natalie Harriman, PhD	Research Integrity Office, Division for Research Development , Stellenbosch University
12	Rob Lamberts, PhD	Division of Orthopedic Surgery, Dept. of Surgical Sciences, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
13	 Marianne Johnson, MMed Tarryn Moore, MMed 	Department of Anesthesiology & Critical Care, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
14	Jennifer Jackson, PhD	Division of Molecular Biology & Human Genetics, Dept. of Biomedical Sciences , FMHS, Stellenbosch University
15	Eduard Langenegger, PhD	Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
16	Zelra Malan, PhD	Division of Family Medicine & Primary Care, Dept. of Family & Emergency Medicine , FMHS, Stellenbosch University
17	Linzette Morris, PhD	Division of Physiotherapy, Dept. of Health and Rehabilitation Studies, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
18	Vikesh Naidoo, Snr Cert.	Department of Pediatrics and Child Health, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
19	Hans Prozesky, MMed	Infectious Diseases Unit, Division of General Internal Medicine, Dept. of Medicine, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
20	Vikash Sewram, PhD	African Cancer Institute, Dept. of Global Health, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
21	Willem Stassen, PhD	Division of Emergency Medicine , Dept. of Public Health & Family Medicine, Univ. of Cape Town
22	Carmen Swanepoel, PhD	Division of Haematological Pathology, Dept. of Pathology, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
23	Sharian Suliman, PhD	Department of Psychiatry , FMHS, Stellenbosch University
24	Talitha Crowley, PhD	Department of Nursing & Midwifery, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
25	Tonya Esterhuizen, MSc	Division of Epidemiology & Biostatistics , Dept. of Global Health, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
26	Peter Nyasulu, PhD	Division of Epidemiology & Biostatistics , Dept. of Global Health, FMHS, Stellenbosch University
27	Memela Makiwane, MMed	Department of Pharmacology , Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Pretoria
28	Karen Welman, PhD	Department of Sport Science , Faculty of Education, Stellenbosch University