

## HEALTH RESEARCH ETHICS COMMITTEE 1 (HREC 1)

## **Committee Members 2019**

	Chair	
1.	Mariana Kruger, MBchB, MMed (Paed), PhD	Department of Paediatrics and Child Health
	Vice Chair	
2.	Cedric Werely, PhD	Division of <b>Molecular Biology &amp; Human Genetics</b> , Dept. of Biomedical Sciences, FMHS
3.	Richard Glashoff, PhD	Division of Medical Virology, Dept. of Pathology, FMHS
	·	

Secretary		
Melody Shana, BSc	Health Research Ethics Office, FMHS	

	General members	
4.	Ahmed Abulfathi, MBBS	Division of Clinical Pharmacology, Dept. of Medicine, FMHS
5.	Nicola Barsdorf, MHS PhD	Health Research Ethics Office, FMHS
6.	<ul> <li>Pieter Barnardt, MBchB</li> <li>Waleed Begg, MBchB, MMed (Med)</li> <li>Hannah Simonds, MBchB, MRCP, FRCR</li> </ul>	Division of <b>Radiation Oncology</b> , Dept. of Medical Imaging and Clinical Oncology, FMHS
7.	Ursula Botha , MBchB, MMed (Psych) PhD	Department of <b>Psychiatry</b> , FMHS
8.	Yolandi Brink, MSc, BSc, PhD	Division of Physiotherapy, Dept. of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, FMHS
9.	Lesley Burgess, MBchB, MMed, PhD	TREAD Research, Tygerberg Hospital
10.	<ul><li>Sean Chetty, MBchB</li><li>Annemarie Senekal, MBchB</li></ul>	Department of Anaesthesiology and Critical Care
11.	Moleen Dzikiti, PhD	Division <b>of Epidemiology and Biostatistics,</b> Department of Global Health, FMHS
12.	Pieter Els, PhD	Community Member
13.	Pierre Goussard, MBchB, MMed (Paed)	Department of Paediatrics, FMHS
14.	Natalie Harriman. PhD	Division for Research Development
15.	Liske Kotze-Horstmann, MSc, PhD	Division of Medical Physiology, Dept of Biomedical Sciences
16.	Anusha Lachman, MBchB, MMed, PhD	Department of <b>Psychiatry</b> , FMHS
17.	Deidré Mason, MBChB, DipObs	Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, FMHS
18.	Xikombiso Mbehnyane, MS, PhD	Division of Human Nutrition, Dept of Global Health, FMHS
19.	Rose Richards, PhD	Writing Lab, Language Centre Dept of Psychology,SU
20.	Rizwana Roomaney, BA, MA, PhD	Dept. of Psychology, SU
21.	Niel van Hoving, MBchB, MMed, MScMedSci	Division of Emergency Medicine, Dept. of Family and Emergency Medicine
22.	Dave Whitelaw, MBchB,MMed,PhD	Rheumatology, Division of Internal Medicine, Dept. of Medicine, FMHS