

HEALTH RESEARCH ETHICS COMMITTEE 1 (HREC 1)

Committee Members 2018

| _ | Chair | |
|---|---------------------|---|
| 1 | Marianne Unger, PhD | Division of Physiotherapy, Dept. of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences , FMHS |
| | | |

| Vice Chair | | |
|------------|-------------|--|
| 2 | Vacant post | |
| 3 | Vacant post | |

Secretary

| 4 | Franklin Weber, MA | Health Research Ethics Office, FMHS |
|---|--------------------|-------------------------------------|
|---|--------------------|-------------------------------------|

General members

| | General members | | |
|----|---|---|--|
| 5 | Ahmed Abulfathi, MD | Division of Clinical Pharmacology, Dept of Medicine, FMHS | |
| 6 | Nicola Barsdorf, MHS PhD | Health Research Ethics Office, FMHS | |
| 7 | Pieter Barnard, MD | Division of Radiation Oncology , Dept. of Medical Imaging and Clinical Oncology, FMHS | |
| 8 | Waleed Begg, MD, MMed (Med) | Division of Radiation Oncology, Dept. of Medical Imaging and Clinical Oncology, FMHS | |
| 9 | Ursula Botha MD, MMed (Psyc) PhD | Department of Psychiatry , FMHS | |
| 10 | Yolandi Brink, MSC, BSc, PhD | Division of Physiotherapy, Dept. of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, FMHS | |
| 11 | Lesley Burgess, MD PhD | TREAD Research, Tygerberg Hospital | |
| 12 | Pieter Els, PhD | Community Member | |
| 13 | Pierre Goussard, MMed(Paed) | Department of Paediatrics, FMHS | |
| 14 | Richard Glashoff, PhD | Division of Medical Virology, Dept of Pathology, FMHS | |
| 15 | David Hall, MD | Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, FMHS | |
| 16 | Natalie Harriman. PhD | Division for Research Development | |
| 17 | Elaine Kearns, MCur | Department of Nursing, University of the Western Cape | |
| 18 | Anusha Lachman, MD, PhD | Department of Psychiatry , FMHS | |
| 19 | Xikombiso Mbehnyane, PhD | Division of Human Nutrition, Department of Global Health, FMHS | |
| 20 | Cynthia Philander | Community Member | |
| 21 | Rizwana Roomaney, BA, MA, PhD | Division of Arts & Social Science, Dept. of Psychology, SU | |
| 22 | Hannah Simonds, MD, MRCP, FRCR | Division of Radiation Oncology , Dept. of Medical Imaging and Clinical Oncology, FHMS | |
| 23 | Marie Theunissen | Department of Paediatrics and Child Health, FMHS | |
| 24 | Niel van Hoving, MD, MMed, MScMedSci | Division of Emergency Medicine, Dept. of Family and Emergency Medicine | |
| 25 | Cedric Werely, PhD | Division of Molecular Biology & Human Genetics , Dept of Biomedical Sciences, FMHS | |
| 26 | Dave Whitelaw, MD | Rheumatology, Division of Internal Medicine, Dept of Medicine, FMHS | |
| 27 | Moleen Zunza, PhD | Division of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Department of Global Health, FMHS | |