

UNIVERSITEIT • STELLENBOSCH • UNIVERSITY jou kennisvennoot • your knowledge partner

HEALTH RESEARCH ETHICS COMMITTEE 1 (HREC 1)

Committee members 2017		
Chair		
1	Marianne Unger, PhD	Division of Physiotherapy , Dept. of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences , FMHS
Vice Chairs		
2	Tyson Welzel, MD	Division of Emergency Medicine, University of Cape Town
3	Eric Decloedt, MD	Division of Clinical Pharmacology, Dept of Medicine, FMHS
Secretary		
4	Franklin Weber, MA	Health Research Ethics Office, FMHS
General members		
5	Ahmed Abulfathi, MD	Division of Clinical Pharmacology, Dept of Medicine, FMHS
6	Nicola Barsdorf, MHS PhD	Health Research Ethics Office, FMHS
7	Lesley Burgess, MD PhD	TREAD Research, Tygerberg Hospital
8	Pieter Els, PhD	Community Member
9	Pierre Goussard, MMed(Paed)	Department of Paediatrics , FMHS
10	Richard Glashoff, PhD	Division of Medical Virology , Dept of Pathology, FMHS
11	David Hall, MD	Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, FMHS
12	Elaine Kearns, MCur	Department of Nursing , University of the Western Cape
13	Anusha Lachman, MD, PhD	Department of Psychiatry , FMHS
14	Xikombiso Mbehnyane, PhD	Division of Human Nutrition , Department of Global Health, FMHS
15	Cynthia Philander	Community Member
16	Marie-Louise Sprenkels, MD	Department of Anaesthesiology and Critical Care, FMHS
17	Cedric Werely, PhD	Division of Molecular Biology & Human Genetics , Dept of Biomedical Sciences, FMHS
18	Dave Whitelaw, MD	Rheumatology, Division of Internal Medicine, Dept of Medicine, FMHS
19	Moleen Zunza, PhD	Division of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Department of Global Health, FMHS
	Vacant post	Dept of Surgical Sciences, FMHS
	Vacant post	Dept of Medical Imaging and Clinical Oncology, FMHS
	Vacant post	Div of Family Medicine and Primary Care , Dept of Family and Emergency Medicine, FMHS
	Vacant post	Dept of Nursing , FMHS