Immunology Research Group
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

​​​Stellenbosch University Immunology Research Group

​MSc Students


Ayanda Shabangu 

Tel: +27 21 938 9403
ayandas@sun.ac.za

Project title: The phenotypic and functional characterization of B cells in tuberculosis and type 2 diabetes.



Bongani Motaung 

Tel: +27 21 938 9403
bonganim@sun.ac.za

Project title: Binding Immunoglobulin Protein (BiP) for the induction of regulatory B-cells during latent and active tuberculosis.



Charles Manyelo 

Tel: +27 21 938 9403
manyelo@sun.ac.za

Project title: The investigation of host biomarkers for early diagnosis of tuberculous meningitis (TBM) in children.



Carly Young 

Tel: +27 21 938 9403
carly@sun.ac.za

Project title: Deep phenotyping of human MDSC from the lungs and blood of patients with TB and other lung diseases.



Dannielle Moore 

Tel: +27 21 938 9403
dannielle@sun.ac.za

Project title: Investigation of Regulatory B-cell Responses during Mycobacterium tuberculosis Infection.



Portia Manngo 

Tel: +27 21 938 9403
mpmanngo@sun.ac.za

Project title: Evaluation of Mycobacterium tuberculosis antigen-specific host biomarkers as biosignature for the diagnosis of tuberculosis.




Soyama Nyangwa 

Tel: +27 21 938 9399
soyama@sun.ac.za

Project title: Understanding the Structural and Functional Response of gamma-Interferon to Mycobacterium tuberculosis infection in macrophages.



Tshepiso Nkonyane 

Tel: +27 21 938 9399
tnkonyane@sun.ac.za

Project title: Chemokine/ cytokine measurements via Luminex and proteomic platforms: comparing technologies.



Vinzeigh Leukes  

Tel: +27 21 938 9399
vnleukes@sun.ac.za

Project title: Effect of pharmacological modulation of Myeloid Derived Suppressor Cell function on immune reactivity against Mycobacterium tuberculosis.



​​