Arts & Social Science
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Staff Matters


Message from the Dean

Dear Colleagues

At the end of the first year of my term as Dean, I would like to thank each and every one of you in the Faculty for your incredible support. Particular thanks to the Faculty's Vice-deans, the Chairpersons of departments and the Chairpersons of the standing committees for all your unbelievably hard work to enable the affairs of the Faculty to run so smoothly.

I would specifically like to mention Mr Pieter Janse van Rensburg, Dr Cindy-Lee Steenekamp, and Mss Antoinette Kritzinger, Nicky Steenstra, Lynne Rippenaar-Moses, Carin de la Querra and Tanja Malan, who put in many long hours in the Office of the Dean to do everything that had to be done.

We started the year on a high note with a record number of PhD students from the 2012 academic year graduating in March and we end with the expectation of coming very close to this number again in 2013. The weighted research output in our Faculty also shot up in 2012, placing us at the top of the list of faculties in terms of research output at the University. Given th​e work that we did on the research front and the delivery of postgraduate students in the course of 2013, we can look forward once again to performing well in this area

We have also made great strides in interesting and important ways in the Faculty as far as teaching and community interaction are concerned. Dr Elmarie Costandius of Visual Arts, for example, was given national recognition for the way in which she combines innovative and transformative teaching with community interaction, while several other departments have also started strongly coming to the fore with the planning of new, innovative programmes and short courses.

All of this has placed the Faculty in a particularly favourable position in the University's new budgeting process and model launched during 2013 compared with other faculties. The portion "retained" by the Faculty from its earnings from teaching and research, for example, increased from about 43% to about 47% if we compare this year's budget allocation with last year's.

The University's budgeting process and model are not yet finalised and will have to be further developed during 2014 to iron out some sticking points. The biggest challenge for our Faculty is to ensure that our core business, particularly in teaching and research, is not seriously disrupted by cuts to ad hoc appointments in the midst of widely differentiated remuneration adjustments allocated to top performers from 2014 and the elimination of remuneration backlogs.

This will require hard work and creative thinking from us all as we tackle the process of programme evaluation in the first semester of 2014, however, I look forward to working with you in this regard to strengthen the Faculty even further as an exciting place for the discovery, transfer and sharing of knowledge.

The adjustments in respect of building services are also a matter that we will have to manage with great prudence to promote the well-being and work satisfaction of, in particular, our support staff in the Faculty.

But, before we tackle these and other matters, we first have to see out the year and get some rest.

I wish you all the best for the festive days to come. 

Johan Hattingh

​Quick guide to important support services

For access to all Faculty documentation, please visit the Sharepoint site.
If you do not have access to the Sharepoint site, please contact the Faculty Manager, Mr Pieter Janse van Rensburg at 021 808 3848 or via e-mail.

Faculty specific activities are indicated on a shared calendar on Outlook. Contact the Faculty Manager, Pieter Janse van Rensburg, at 021 808 3848 or via e-mail if you want to load an item on the calendar or if you need help to access the calendar.

Faculty Committees

The Faculty has seven committees which govern various activities of the Faculty and is headed by a chairperson.

The committees are:

Academic Offering Committee
Mr Johan Oosthuizen

Chair Committee
Prof Johan Hattingh

Community Interaction and Service Committee
Ms Pamela Kierman

Faculty Committee
Prof Johan Hattingh

Marketing and Recruitment Committee
Dr Johanna Steyn

Research Committee
Dr Stella Viljoen

Teaching Committee 
Dr Annemaré Kotzé