Contact Details

The aim of this brochure is to introduce you to Subcommittee C and to provide an overview of funding opportunities within the committee. If you require further information, feel free to contact:

Prof Nico C Gey van Pittius

021 938 9098 - researchfhs@sun.ac.za
Deputy Dean: Research,
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
(Chair: Subcommittee C)

Dr Tania Brodovcky

021 938 9150 - taniab@sun.ac.za

Head: Capacity Development & Funding, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (Secretariat: Subcommittee C)

Dr Therina Theron

021 808 4624 - ttheron@sun.ac.za
Senior Director:
Research and Innovation (SU)

Subcommittee C meeting dates 2015

Agenda closes	Meeting date
22 January	4 February
30 March	14 April
25 May	8 June
11 August	24 August
19 October	2 November

Other Committees

RESEARCH COMMITTEE

Overarching committee advising Senate on research policy and the advancement of research at Stellenbosch University.

SUBCOMMITTEE A

Committee responsible for the advancement of research in the following faculties:

Arts and Social Sciences

Education

Law

Theology

Economic and Management Sciences

Military Science

SUBCOMMITTEE B

Committee responsible for the advancement of research in the following faculties:

Science AgriSciences Engineering

SUB-COMMITTEE DEALING WITH CENTRAL ANALYTICAL FACILITIES (CAF)

This committee is responsible for formulating policy, managing the CAF and advising the Senate on CAF issues.

ADVISORY COMMITTEE FOR LABORATORY EQUIPMENT (ALE)

Committee responsible for advising the Vice-rector (Research and Innovation) on the appropriation of central research funds reserved for the purchase of large research equipment.



Research Development and Support, Tygerberg campus
Stellenbosch University, PO Box 241, Cape Town, 8000
Tel: 021 938 9150 Fax: 021 938 9855
e-mail: taniab@sun.ac.za



UNIVERSITEIT • STELLENBOSCH • UNIVERSITY jou kennisvennoot • your knowledge partner

SUBCOMMITTEE C of the RESEARCH COMMITTEE

Committee responsible for the advancement of research in the:

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

CHAIR: Prof Nico C Gey van Pittius

SECRETARIAT: Dr Tania Brodovcky



May 2015

Background

The Senate has approved that the Research Committee appoint three subcommittees representative of the broad groupings within the sciences, known as A (for the arts and humanities), B (for basic and applied natural science and engineering) and C (for the health sciences), to advise it on its wider functions. Subcommittee C members are appointed biannually and the chairperson and vice chair are elected by the members of the committee. The Senior Director: Research and Innovation is an ex officio member of the committee.

Subcommittee C fulfills 3 main functions, namely:

- To advise the Research Committee on research policy matters
- Internal screening of NRF rating applications
- To allocate research funding

Funding opportunities within Subcommittee C

RESEARCH ASSISTANCE

Four-year full time contract positions are made available to senior staff for assistance with research projects within the faculty.

Closing date for applications: Varies

TEMPORARY RESEARCH ASSISTANCE

Funding for part time research assistance is made available to researchers for specific projects.

Closing date for applications: September

LECTURER REPLACEMENT FUND

This opportunity is earmarked for lecturing staff within the Allied Health Professions to alleviate part of their lecturing load for the advancement of their research. Closing date for applications: March

EARLY CAREER RESEARCH FUND

This temporary strategic funding is to enable earlycareer researchers to embark on a research project that would lead to the production of research outputs that would enable them to apply for grants. Closing date for applications: March

POSTDOCTORAL FELLOWSHIPS

Subcommittee C co-funds postdoctoral fellowships at R180,000 each, which are awarded competitively to candidates who obtained their PhD degrees within the past 5 years. Applications are made by the hosts. **Closing date for applications:** Varies

SPECIAL SUPPORT SCHEME FOR RESEARCH (SSS/"SOS"-FUNDS)

A fixed amount (R9,000) is allocated annually for each publication unit earned for journal articles, books or book chapters and patents which qualify for a government subsidy from the Department of Higher Education and Training. This amount is paid into a central research account of each department / institute / centre / unit. The funds are made available by the chairperson to the researchers who have contributed to the publication units.

No application process.

Research Ethics and Compliancy

At SU, research ethics and compliancy is managed by the Senate Research Ethics Committee (SREC) and five Research Ethics Review Committees (RECs). Contacts for each of these committees are listed below:

• Senate Research Ethics Committee

Contact: Mrs Maléne Fouché (mfouche@sun.ac.za)

• REC: Human Research (Humanities)

Contact: Ms Clarissa Graham (cgraham@sun.ac.za)

• HREC1: Health Research 1

Contact: Mr Franklin Weber

(fweb@sun.ac.za)

HREC2: Health Research 2
 Contact: Mrs Mertrude Davids

(mertrude@sun.ac.za)

REC: Animal Care and Use

Contact: Mr Winston Beukes (wabeukes@sun.ac.za)

REC: Environment and Bio-Safety

Contact: Mr Winston Beukes (wabeukes@sun.ac.za)

Subcommittee C members

Prof Nico C Gey van Pittius (Chair)
Vice Dean: Research (FMHS)

Prof Gerhard B Theron (Deputy chair)
Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Dr Tania Brodovcky (Secretariat)Research Development and Support

Prof John M AkuduguMedical Imaging and Clinical Oncology

Dr Nicola W Barsdorf Health Research Ethics Office

> Prof Paul A Brink Medicine

Prof Usuf ME Chikte

Interdisciplinary Health Sciences

Dr J du Toit Orthopaedic Surgery

Prof Robin A Emsley Psychiatry

Prof Mariana Kruger
Paediatrics and Child Health

Dr Alwyn JN Louw

Centre for Health Professions Education

Prof Quinette A Louw Interdisciplinary Health Sciences

Ms Debbie Marais Undergraduate Research Office

> Prof Wolfgang Preiser Pathology

Prof Simon SchaafPaediatrics and Child Health

Prof Soraya Seedat Psychiatry

Prof Hans Strijdom

Biomedical Sciences

Dr Therina Theron
Senior Director: Research and Innovation

Prof Wynand van der Merwe Anaesthesiology and Critical Care

Anaesthesiology and Critical Care

Prof Jimmy A Volmink

Dean: Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Prof Gerhard WalzlBiomedical Sciences

Prof Robin M Warren
Biomedical Sciences