

Research Ethics Committee: Biological and Environmental Safety Member List 2025

Membership Category	Member	Institution	Department
With substantial	Prof Samantha Sampson	Faculty of Medicine and	Molecular Biology
experience in	(Chair)	Health Sciences	and Human Genetics
biosafety	Prof Corena De Beer	Faculty of Medicine and	Medical Virology
	(Vice-Chair)	Health Sciences	
	Prof Sian Hemmings	Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences	Psychiatry
	Prof Mari van de Vyver	Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences	General Internal Medicine
	Dr Diane Rip	Faculty of AgriScience	Food Science
	Mrs Jane De Kock	Faculty of Science	Microbiology
	Prof Karl Storbeck	Faculty of Science	Biochemistry
	Dr Nicky Verhoog	Faculty of Science	Biochemistry
	Prof Wynand Goosen	Animal TB Expert –	One Health Centre of
		University of the Free State	Excellence
	Dr Sarita Groenewald	Biosafety Expert – non- affiliate	
	Dr Hennie Groenewald	GMO Expert – non-affiliate	
	Ms Shané Basson	Community Member – non- affiliate	
	Mr Francois October	Community Member – non- affiliate	
	Mr Denver Titus	Community Member – non- affiliate	
	Mrs Naseema Sonday	Division of Research	Research Contracts
		Development	Office
Secretariat	Mr Winston Beukes	Division of Research	Office for Research
		Development	Integrity and Ethics
	Mrs Biosha Thompson	Division of Research	Office for Research
	Graham	Development	Integrity and Ethics