Centre for Teaching and Learning
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Workshops and seminars

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
SoTL pre-conference worksho​ps

CTL also offers pre-conference workshops as part of the SoTL conference in October.  More information about these workshops are available on the SoTL website.


Generic wor​​​kshops

The Cape Higher Education Consortium offers a series of workshops as part of their Quality Teaching in Higher Education programme. For more information visit the CHEC short courses page


Faculty-specific worksho​​ps

Faculty based workshops are designed in consultation with the Faculties and are designed to meet the Faculty's specific needs.  CTL staff members in Faculties can offer tailor made Faculty-based teaching and learning workshops on request. Please contact the advisor (see below) assigned to your Faculty for arrangements.

Teaching & Learning Seminars

During each term, the Centre for Teaching and Learning (CTL), hosts a quarterly virtual Teaching and Learning seminar on MSTeams to promote the scholarship of teaching and learning. SU Teaching Fellows share their research, innovations and experiences about teaching and learning and lively discussion follows.  

The 2022 seminars are held on MSTeams between 13.00 - 14.00 on the following dates:​

​Friday, 11 March​
​Prof Debby Blaine (Mechanical & Mechatronic Engineering)
​Thursday, 12 May
​Prof Ingrid Rewitzky (Faculty of Science)
​Thursday, 08 September
t.b.c​​
​Thursday, 20 October
Dr Marianne McKay (Department of Viticulture and Oenology, Faculty of AgriSciences)

​​

Do you want to join? Email Lucinda Lucks at llucks@sun.ac.za to send you the link.

More information and access to podcasts of previous seminars are​ available here .   ​


CTL advisors in faculties

Facult​​y  Advisor  E-mail Extension
AgriSciences Charmaine van der Merwe
cvandermerwe@sun.ac.za 9762
Arts and Social Sciences Karin Cattell-Holden kcattell@sun.ac.za 3074 / 9617
Economic and Management Sciences Gert Young gyoung@sun.ac.za 4937
Education Anthea Jacobs jacobsa@sun.ac.za 9258
​Engineering
Karin Wolff 
wolffk@sun.ac.za​

Law Claudia Swart claudias2@sun.ac.za​
4502​
Medicine and Health Sciences Gerda Dullaart gdullaart@sun.ac.za ​9761
Military Science  Sim Ntwasa sim@sun.ac.za3076
Science Hanelie Adendorff hja@sun.ac.za
9191
TheologyJean Farmer
jeanlee@sun.ac.za​2956​
​ ​​​