Centre for Teaching and Learning
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Workshops and seminars

​​​​​​​​​​
SoTL pre-conference worksho​ps

CTL also offers pre-conference workshops as part of the SoTL conference in October.  More information about these workshops are available on the SoTL website.


Generic wor​​​kshops

The Cape Higher Education Consortium offers a series of workshops as part of their Quality Teaching in Higher Education programme. For more information visit the CHEC short courses page


Faculty-specific worksho​​ps

Faculty based workshops are designed in consultation with the Faculties and are designed to meet the Faculty's specific needs.  CTL staff members in Faculties can offer tailor made Faculty-based teaching and learning workshops on request. Please contact the advisor (see below) assigned to your Faculty for arrangements.

​​

Teaching & Learning Sem​​inars

During each term, the Vice-Rector (Learning and Teaching), Prof Arnold Schoonwinkel hosts a Teaching and Learning seminar.  The purpose of the seminars is to promote the scholarship of teaching and learning.  During these sessions, teaching champions share their research, innovations and experiences about teaching and learning with colleagues.

More information and access to podcasts of previous seminars is available here.  ​


​CTL advisors in faculties


Facult​​y  Advisor  E-mail Extension
AgriSciences Charmaine van der Merwe
cvandermerwe@sun.ac.za 9762
Arts and Social Sciences Karin Cattell-Holden kcattell@sun.ac.za 3074 / 9617
Economic and Management Sciences Gert Young gyoung@sun.ac.za 4937
Education Anthea Jacobs jacobsa@sun.ac.za 9258
​Engineering
​Mbali Mohlakoana (CTL Advisor)

Karin Wolff (Advisor: Teaching and Learning, Faculty of Engineering)
​mmohlakoana@sun.ac.​za

wolffk@sun.ac.za​
​3589
Law Claudia Swart claudias2@sun.ac.za​
4502​
Medicine and Health Sciences Gerda Dullaart gdullaart@sun.ac.za ​9761
Military Science  Nicoline Herma nherman@sun.ac.za3076
Science Hanelie Adendorff hja@sun.ac.za
9191
TheologyJean Farmer
jeanlee@sun.ac.za​2956​
​ ​​​