

HEALTH RESEARCH ETHICS COMMITTEE 1 (HREC 1)

		Committee Members 2019-2021
	Chair	
1.	Pedro Fernandez, BSc Hons (Biochemistry), PhD (Med Sci.Genetics)	Division of Urology, Dept of Surgical Sciences, FMHS
	Vice Chair	
2.	Cedric Werely, PhD	Division of Molecular Biology & Human Genetics, Dept of Biomedical Sciences , FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
3.	Richard Glashoff, PhD	Division of Medical Microbiology and Immunology, Dept of Pathology , FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
	Secretary	
	Melody Shana, BSc	Health Research Ethics Office, Division of Research Development & Support, FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
	Ex officio members	
	Nicola Barsdorf, MHS PhD	Health Research Ethics Office, Division of Research Development & Support, FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
G	eneral members	
4.	Birhanu Ayele, Msc, PhD	Division of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Dept of Global Health, FMHS
5.	 Pieter Barnardt, MBChB, PGDip Oncochemotherapy Hannah Simonds, MBChB, MRCP, FRCR 	Division of Radiation Oncology, Department of Medical Imaging and Clinical Oncology , FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
6.	 Shaun Barnabas, MBChB, ACLS, PLS, DCH, FC Paed Mark Cotton, MBChB, DCH, DTM, MMed, (Paed), FC Paed, PhD 	Children's Infectious Diseases Clinical Research Unit/ Family Clinical Research Unit (FAMCRU/KIDCRU), Dept of Paediatrics and Child Health, FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
7.	Yolandi Brink, MSc, BSc, PhD	Division of Physiotherapy, Dept of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences , FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
8.	Ursula Botha , MBChB, MMed (Psych) PhD	Department of Psychiatry, FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
9.	Lesley Burgess, MBChB, MMed, PhD	TREAD Research, Tygerberg Hospital
10.	 Sean Chetty, MBChB, DCH,FCA,PhD Dirk Coetzee, MBChB, FCA, MMed 	Department of Anaesthesiology and Critical Care, FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
11.	Moleen Dzikiti, Msc, PhD	Division of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Dept of Global Health, FMHS
12.	Pieter Els, PhD	Community Member
13.	Pierre Goussard, MBChB, MMed (Paed)	Department of Paediatrics and Child Health, Stellenbosch University. FMHS
14.	Mariana Van der Heever, BCur, M.Cur, PhD	Department of Nursing and Midwifery, FHMS
15.	Niel van Hoving, MBChB, MMed, MScMedSci	Division of Emergency Medicine, Dept of Family and Emergency Medicine , FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
16.	Anusha Lachman, MBchB, MMed, PhD	Department of Psychiatry, FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
17.	Deidré Mason, MBChB, DipObs	Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
18.	Xikombiso Mbhenyane, MS, PhD	Division of Human Nutrition, Dept of Global Health, FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
19.	Sue-Ann Meehan, MA research Psychology, PhD	Desmond Tutu TB Centre (DTTC), Dept of Paediatrics and Child Health, FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
20.	Rose Richards, PhD	Research and Writing Lab, Stellenbosch University Language Centre
21. 22.	Rizwana Roomaney, BA, MA, PhD Mark Tomlinson, BA Honours , MA Clinical	Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Stellenbosch University. Dept. of Psychology, SU
	Psychology, PhD	
23. 24.	Caitlin Uren, BSc, PhD Dave Whitelaw, MBChB,MMed,PhD	Division of Molecular Biology & Human Genetics, Dept. of Biomedical Sciences , FMHS Rheumatology, Division of Internal Medicine, Dept of Medicine , FMHS, Stellenbosch University.