Contact Details

The aim of this brochure is to introduce you to Subcommittee C and to provide an overview of funding opportunities within the committee. If you require further information, feel free to contact:

Prof Nico C Gey van Pittius

021 938 9098 - researchfhs@sun.ac.za
Vice Dean: Research,
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
(Chair: Subcommittee C)

Dr Tania Brodovcky

021 938 9150 - taniab@sun.ac.za

Head: Research Capacity Development & Funding, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
(In support: Subcommittee C)

Dr Therina Theron

021 808 4624 - ttheron@sun.ac.za
Senior Director:
Research and Innovation

Subcommittee C meeting dates 2017

Agenda closes	Meeting date
17 January	31 January 2018
26 March	9 April 2018
28 May	11 June 2018
6 August	20 August 2018
15 October	29 October 2018

Other Committees

RESEARCH COMMITTEE

Overarching committee advising Senate on research policy and the advancement of research at Stellenbosch University.

SUBCOMMITTEE A

Committee responsible for the advancement of research in the following faculties:

Arts and Social Sciences

Education

Law

Theology

Economic and Management Sciences
Military Science

SUBCOMMITTEE B

Committee responsible for the advancement of research in the following faculties:

Science AgriSciences Engineering

SUB-COMMITTEE DEALING WITH CENTRAL ANALYTICAL FACILITIES (CAF)

This committee is responsible for formulating policy, managing the CAF and advising the Senate on CAF issues.

ADVISORY COMMITTEE FOR LABORATORY EQUIPMENT (ALE)

Committee responsible for advising the Vice-rector (Research, Innovation & Postgraduate Studies) on the appropriation of central research funds reserved for the purchase of large research equipment.



Research Development and Support, Tygerberg campus Stellenbosch University, PO Box 241, Cape Town, 8000 Tel: 021 938 9150 e-mail: taniab@sun.ac.za



UNIVERSITEIT • STELLENBOSCH • UNIVERSITY
jou kennisvennoot • your knowledge partner

of the RESEARCH COMMITTEE

Committee responsible for the advancement of research in the:

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

CHAIR: Prof Nico C Gey van Pittius

IN SUPPORT: Dr Tania Brodovcky



January 2018

Background

The Senate has approved that the Research Committee appoint three subcommittees representative of the broad groupings within the sciences, known as A (for the arts and humanities), B (for basic and applied natural science and engineering) and C (for the health sciences), to advise it on its wider functions. Subcommittee C members are appointed biannually and the chairperson and vice chair are elected by the members of the committee. The Senior Director: Research and Innovation is an ex officio member of the committee.

Subcommittee C fulfills 3 main functions, namely:

- To advise the Research Committee on research policy matters
- Internal screening of NRF rating applications
- To allocate research funding

Funding opportunities within Subcommittee C

RESEARCH ASSISTANCE

Four-vear full time contract positions are made available to senior staff for assistance with research projects within the faculty.

Closing date for applications: September

TEMPORARY RESEARCH ASSISTANCE

Funding for part time research assistance is made available to researchers for specific projects. Closing date for applications: September

LECTURER REPLACEMENT FUND

This opportunity is earmarked for lecturing staff within the Allied Health Professions to alleviate part of their lecturing load for the advancement of their research.

Closing date for applications: March

EARLY CAREER RESEARCH FUND

This temporary strategic funding is to enable earlycareer researchers to embark on a research project that would lead to the production of research outputs that would enable them to apply for grants. Closing date for applications: March

POSTDOCTORAL FELLOWSHIPS

Subcommittee C co-funds postdoctoral fellowships at R200,000 each, which are awarded competitively to candidates who obtained their PhD degrees within the past 5 years. Applications are made by the hosts. Closing date for applications: September

SPECIAL SUPPORT SCHEME FOR RESEARCH (SSS/"SOS"-FUNDS)

A fixed amount (R9,000) is allocated annually for each publication unit earned for journal articles, books or book chapters and patents which qualify for a government subsidy from the Department of Higher Education and Training. This amount is paid into a central research account of each department / institute / centre / unit. The funds are made available by the chairperson to the researchers who have contributed to the publication units.

No application process.

Research Ethics and Compliance

At SU, research ethics and compliancy is managed by the Senate Research Ethics Committee (SREC) and five Research Ethics Review Committees (RECs). Contacts for each of these committees are listed below:

Senate Research Ethics Committee

Contact: Mrs Maléne Fouché (mfouche@sun.ac.za)

REC: Human Research (Humanities)

Contact: Ms Clarissa Graham (cgraham@sun.ac.za)

HREC1: Health Research 1

Contact: Mr Franklin Weber

(fweb@sun.ac.za)

• HREC2: Health Research 2 Contact: Mr Francis Masive

(fmasive@sun.ac.za)

REC: Animal Care and Use

Contact: Mr Winston Beukes (wabeukes@sun.ac.za)

REC: Environment and Bio-Safety

Contact: Mr Winston Beukes (wabeukes@sun.ac.za)

Subcommittee C members

Prof Nico C Gey van Pittius (Chair) Vice Dean: Research (FMHS)

Dr Tania Brodovcky (Secretariat) Research Development and Support

Prof John M Akuduau

Medical Imaging and Clinical Oncology

Dr Nicola W Barsdorf

Health Research Ethics Office

Prof Renée Blaauw Global Health

Prof M Hennie Botha

Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Prof Paul A Brink Medicine

Prof Jonathan A Carr Medicine

Prof Stephan S du Plessis

Biomedical Sciences

Prof Jagues du Toit Surgical Sciences

Prof Sian MJ Hemmings Psychiatry

Prof Anneke C Hesseling

Paediatrics and Child Health

Dr Alwyn JN Louw

Centre for Health Professions Education

Prof Quinette A Louw

Health and Rehabilitation Sciences

Ms Debbie Marais

Undergraduate Research Office

Prof Robert Mash

Family and Emergency Medicine

Prof Wolfgang Preiser Pathology

Prof Samatha L Sampson

Biomedical Sciences

Prof H Simon Schaaf

Paediatrics and Child Health

Prof Soraya Seedat Psychiatry

Dr Therina Theron

Senior Director: Research and Innovation

Prof Anita S van der Merwe

Nursing and Midwifery

Vacant

Anaesthesiology and Critical Care

Prof Jimmy A Volmink

Dean: Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Prof Gerhard Walzl

Biomedical Sciences

Prof Tarvn Young Global Health