

HEALTH RESEARCH ETHICS COMMITTEE 2 (HREC 2)

Committee Members 2019 - 2021			
	Chair		
1.	Anita van der Merwe, PhD	Department of Nursing & Midwifery , FMHS, Stellenbosch University (SU)	
Vice Chair			
2.	Theresa Mann, PhD	Division of Orthopedic Surgery, Dept. of Surgical Sciences , FMHS, SU	
3.	Willem Stassen, PhD	Division of Emergency Medicine	
	Secretary		
4.	Brightness Nxumalo, MSocSc	Health Research Ethics Office, Division of Research Development & Support, FMHS, SU.	
	Ex officio members		
5.	Blanche Pretorius, DPhil (Social Work), PhD	Health Research Ethics Office, Division of Research Development & Support, FMHS, SU.	
6.	Nicola Barsdorf, MHS PhD	Research Integrity Office, Division for Research Development, SU	
General members			
7.	Alida de Beer, MSc	Division of Speech-Language & Hearing Therapy, Dept. of Health & Rehabilitation Studies, FMHS, SU	
8.	Adrie Bekker, PhDJohn Lawrenson	Department of Pediatrics and Child Health , FMHS, SU (Alternate Members)	
9.	Francois Bloem, LLB	General Law Practitioner, Bloem Attorneys, Wellington	
10.	Cathy Edwards	Community Member	
11.	Firnley Blouws, B.Ed. Hon	Community Member	
12.	Rob Lamberts, PhD	Division of Orthopedic Surgery, Dept. of Surgical Sciences , FMHS, SU	
13.	Sengeziwe Sibeko, PhD	Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology, FMHS , SU	
14.	Hans Prozesky, MMed	Division of General Internal Medicine, Dept. of Medicine , FMHS, SU	
15.	Sharain Suliman, PhD	Department of Psychiatry , FMHS, SU	
16.	Marianne Johnson, MMed	Department of Anesthesiology & Critical Care , FMHS, SU	
17.	Tonya Esterhuizen, MSc	Division of Epidemiology & Biostatistics, Dept. of Global Health , FMHS, SU	
18.	Peter Nyasulu, PhD	Division of Epidemiology & Biostatistics, Dept. of Global Health, FMHS, SU	
19.	Kathryn Chu, PhD	Department of Global Health , FMHS, SU	
20.	Karina Berner, PhD	Division of Physiotherapy, Dept. of Health & Rehabilitation Studies , FMHS, SU	
21.	Ryan Davids, PhD	Department of Anaesthesiology and Critical Care , FMHS, SU	
22.	Bienyameen Baker, PhD	Department of Molecular Biology and Human Genetics, FMHS, SU	
23.	Adetayo Emmanuel Obasa, PhD	Dept. of Medicine , FMHS, SU	
24.	Mandi Alblas, PhD	Division of Anatomy and Histology , Dept. of Biomedical Sciences , FMHS, SU	
25.	Tsepo Motsohi, MBChB, MMed	Division of Family Medicine and Primary Care, Department of Family and Emergency Medicine	
26.	Lulu Nair, MBChB, M PH & PGDip Health Research Ethics.	Dept. of Medicine/Centre for Medical Ethics and Law, FMHS, SU	
27.	Christina Laurenzi, PhD	Dept. of Global Health , Institute for Life Course Health Research, FMHS, SU	
28.	Karis Moxley, PhD	Registrar Research Support Office, Division of Research Development & Support, FMHS, SU.	
29.	Marilize Burger, PhD	Division of Orthopedic Surgery, Dept. of Surgical Sciences , FMHS, SU	